We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great customer service”
Review of Fort Hays Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Hays Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great customer service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were in town for Fort Hays State University's homecoming weekend and stayed here and had a good experience. Check-in staff was very friendly. Room was good-sized, and VERY clean. Nice Oxygenics showerhead with curved shower curtain rod. Comfortable bed with 4 pillows. Had room-darkening curtains that really WORK. We had an issue with the heater in the room, but the manager cheerfully addressed it (GREAT customer service from the manager). If you have a ground floor room, the parking is directly in front of your room, so it makes unpacking/packing easy. There is a Walgreens directly next door to the hotel (convenient to pick up anything you've forgotten), and there are lots of restaurants and shopping on the same street as the hotel. Not far from the university, yet close to the conveniences of Hays. Great hotel for the price!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    61
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
55
38
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an older hotel but a great stay at a great price. In some of the other reviews it mentioned updated, newly renovated rooms, I did not get one of those rooms but I wasn't disappointed. My room was very clean and had everything that I needed. The tv, microwave, and fridge were out-dated but all worked and fulfilled their purposes. It was a little noisy because the room doors don't open up into an enclosed hallway. However, it made loading and unloading your bags very easy by being able to park right outside your room door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

pleasant suprise. i've stayed at the old hotel,but this was a treat. New nice bedding, sheet on top and bottom of blanket, nice touch!!! new everything in room . Clean pool and hot tubs and small work out rm. Pleasant helpful front desk. and the price well worth the 1mile trip of the interstate. I stay in Hays at least once a year on the way to colorado. as well as many members of my family, this is a great find at a reasonable rate. Flat screen TV, king beds and queen doubles. I travel alot and many hotels with bigger names and price tags don't measure up as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an older hotel that has had renovations in the recent years. The room we stayed in had new carpet, and a flat screen tv. We enjoyed being able to park right outside of our room and we were also able to get a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariemarie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My 10 year old son and I stopped, in Hays, on our way to Denver from St Louis. All of the hotels were full, except for this one. I, reluctantly, got a room here. The front desk clerks were very friendly during check-in and check-out. I was surprised at how clean the room was and the bed was comfortable (soft). I paid a total of $66 for the night for a clean comfortable nights sleep. Only complaint - I didn't appreciate the $1.50 for a safe fee, which, I never even inquired about or even used.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank neneb622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stopped at this motel on and off for many years. It used to be the Vagabond Best Western. It is older, but clean, allows pets for a $5 fee, and the staff is friendly. It has a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SQQSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stopped here on 7/5/2013, passing thru from Midwest to CO. Rate was good, but everything else was not! Had to kill 4 flies in the room, the tv in the next room was on all night, and we heard it all night! Then at midnight, the folks above us came in,walking around, took a shower, turned on the exhaust fan, and we heard all of that! NOT a good nights' sleep at all! Be sure to read all the signs in the lobby when you sign in. There's one about the safe in the room, and you will be charged $1.50 for it. If you do not use it, you have to tell them when checking out, or you will see it on your receipt! Then you have to call them within 60 days. We think that's an easy way to get some extra money from unsuspecting folks. So no, we will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the lower level of the two-story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
1.1 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Hays
Days Inn Hays
#5 of 13 in Hays
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hays Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hays Inn

Property: Fort Hays Inn
Address: 2524 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-2408 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Hays)
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Hays Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fort Hays Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing