We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Hays Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Hays Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Despite the fact that the building has been around for a long time, it was actually not bad inside. They had recently remodeled, it appeared. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and even though we had a end room, next to the road, it was quiet. The WIFI worked fine. Didn't use the pool or the hot tub, so can't comment on those, but did use the exercise room. They offered a variety of equipment, but not much space and one piece was kind of in the way of the TV, which was small, but I lived. Staff were very pleasant and suggested a great place for breakfast, Pheasant Run, which is on Vine St, just up the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpie_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    52
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
35
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here the second night of our 3 week road trip across country. We had never stayed in an Americas Best Value Inn before but the price was right and most reviews were ok so we gave it a shot. The outside is pretty yucky looking - old and tired. The stairs going up to the second floor were very rusty and rotting out. It is also located directly across the street from a cemetery which freaked my kids out a little. The pool did not look very clean (dirty or stained walls of the pool) so we didn't let the kids swim. We stayed on the second floor in the back building in a 2 room family suite which was quite large. The room was very clean, surprisingly, and served its purpose for an overnight stop. The kids loved having all of the extra space. Seemed to be a lot of single guys in some sort of contractor pick up trucks staying there. Not the friendliest bunch. Even though the room was fine, I had an unsafe feeling about the place due to the darkness of the back building location and the unfriendly other guests surrounding us. Didn't really seem like a family type of place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartleby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Changed rooms twice because of noise and VERY rough and rowdy clientele. Shirtless men drinking beer in the parking lot, cervesa party in the back of someone's pick up. Really scarey. Didn't feel safe so we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Older motel, older rooms and decor. Smelled of smoke. AC did not work well. Pool okay but outside and would not allow food/drinks to be at pool side. Hot tub needed de-fomer really bad. Price good but that was about all really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel is older than most of the competition, and it shows. The rooms are somewhat updated, (mainly decorative and bedding) but show plenty of wear. We were on a tight budget and that was a strong reason for picking this place. The outdoor pool was nice, in the 100+ heat. Having stayed at three other hotels in the area, I would not pick this one again, except in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stopped here on my way to Mt. Rushmore. Booked it on Hotels.com it was a great value! Big comfortable bed, nice and clean. Things were a bit dated, but overall great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatsmrwebbtoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We called at about 9 looking for a room (in fact, mooching to somehow find an affordable suite as we're affably sick of each other after 8 days and nights of cross country travel). After hearing our moaning and groaning (you know how effective two women can be at this!) the kindhearted desk clerk told us about a unique room in the hotel... a room with a king bed and a separate room with two doubles. AND it's costing less than the 'two double bed' room at our usual chain. So you'd think with such a deal it would be questionable, right? Nope. Great beds. Nice sized rooms. Separate AC and TVs. Nice bathroom. Ignore the exterior which does look a bit drab and go for it. You won't regret it. Trust me. We're princesses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOSIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Hays
Days Inn Hays
#5 of 15 in Hays
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hays Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hays Inn

Property: Fort Hays Inn
Address: 2524 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-2408 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Hays)
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Hays Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fort Hays Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing