We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality I-70 Stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Buena Vista
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality I-70 Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was a good choice for stopping between Kansas City and Colorado. It is strictly an older chain motel, but the room was very clean and comfortable. Agree with other reviewers about the super friendly staff. The parking lot in back was a little creepy, so parked in front by the office. Breakfast was standard fare. Although our dog was welcome for a $15 fee, there was zero grass available for walking on the hotel property. Only decent option was to cross the service road out front to the grass along the sidewalk. Best find was "Thirstys" Restaurant next door, an easy walk with a great menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovinRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Yes our staff is friendly. Why? Cause they care about you! Our Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
20
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We got caught in a snow storm and stayed at this Hotel. The front desk clerk was very nice and helped us get settled. It had a Continental breakfast which we thought was very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I want to say I am sooo sorry that you had a very unpleasant breakfast. I will take care of the issue. You should have fresh hot waffles with in 3 minutes. Also fresh fruit. Not old. I will take care of your issues. We are adding new items & updates to our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Quality Inn in Hays, KS is a great place to stop overnight or for an extended stay. The staff there is exceptional!!! I can't say that I have a one bad word to say about this Quality Inn. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sewun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your kind words about the Quality Inn. We have new staff and they are really trying their best to have a nice comfortable place for you to stay here in Hays. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I were on our way to Colorado for the Holidays and elected to stay in Hays for the night, and made the terrible mistake of choosing this dated, flea-bag hotel. The staff was polite and professional mind you but this place was truly awful.

We asked for a room in the back as we had our daughters 2 dogs with us and didn't want to disturb other guests. Although the rooms were supposedly non smoking, the entire wing of this hotel reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was outdated, the beds worn out but surprisingly comfortable. We rolled the bed spread up and laid it on the floor as it was filthy.

The room was noisy and poorly insulated as an idiot guest checking in at 2am woke us both up and we never were able to get back to sleep.

The so called complimentary breakfast was disappointing as well. The only good news was that our car wasn't broken into during the evening, as the rear parking lot is well lit and apparently relatively safe and secure.

I would not advise staying here as there are many other hotel choices in Hays. This place was awful and should be either updated or simply closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We take your reviews to heart. We have new housekeepers who take pride in their rooms to be sure they are clean. I am sorry you had a bad stay. If you would give us a chance again I believe you will see a big change. We have replaced a lot of the beds this month. We are also 100% smoke free now. The rooms have been completely stripped, painted & beds thrown away. So no more nasty smoke smell at the Quality Inn. We also made changes in the breakfast room. So give us a try. Thank you for your comments good or bad. This is how we improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

Tennessee
Level Contributor
213 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hard to find something good to say about this place. It is almost a mile from the Interstate. You can walk to nearby restaurants in good weather. The place is noisy and the rooms are not cleaned properly - my chair was dirty and there was dust all around the carpet. It is an old type of hotel and needs remodeling. We could not even get into the breakfast room for kids running around. The central corridor amplifies door slamming and they obviously had a door slamming competition which went on late into the night. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably a corner upstairs is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We do want to apologize that you had a bad stay with us. We are working to improve. We have changed managers over the property. So we do hope you will give us another chance to show our changes that have happened and more to come. Chairs that needed to be have been replaced.The others have been shampooed. All carpets have been shampooed. I did do a training with the front desk staff on how to handle the kids running free and slamming doors. I'm sure that it was hard for you to rest, as that would have disturbed me also. With our changes I do hope you will stop by and check out our rooms when your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff at a sister hotel sent us here due to unavailable rooms late at night. Both hotel staffers were very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a little dated and parking is in the rear. The only complaint was the breakfast. It looked like a day care did a hit and run. The food was nearly gone and the tables were nasty. No one came in and cleaned or refilled the entire time we had breakfast.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WildcatfFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments both good and bad are always welcome. I have taken care of your breakfast issue. We do have a new person who cares and keeps it stocked & cleaned. If you chose to stay with us again you will see new items have been added to the breakfast and more to come. Thank you for the compliment on the staff. It's good to hear that your beds were comfortable & the room was clean. As those are two major items to have a restful stay. Hope to see you again at the Quality Inn, Hays Ks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel not by choice, but because of a roadside breakdown. It was one of only two pet-friendly hotels in Hays and was just perfect for us. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy, staff was friendly, free breakfast was good (waffles!), and there was good access to restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose non-smoking room to avoid smoky smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Sorry to hear you had a breakdown. But happy you found us at the Quality Inn in Hays, Ks for we are always here for you. At least after the stress of a breakdown you found a nice comfy bed & clean room. Then woke up to a breakfast that you enjoyed. Good news we are 100% smoke free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2810 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601-1927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hays
Hays Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing