We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, hard working staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
East TN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, hard working staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Large rooms, clean and quiet. Clean breakfast area. In a nice town to stop and visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    157
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
179
142
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Our original reservation was for the Best Western Butterfield Inn. We got a call on the road a few days before that the hotel had been struck by lightning during a storm and that we may not have electricity in our room and no elevator.

We made a reservation at the Hampton Inn next door and we had an excellent stay.
Rooms clean, great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Immaculate rooms, like brand new, staff was very helpful, nice swimming pool and spa, would definetely stay again! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronbon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern, mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We always like to stay at Hampton when traveling. We were visiting family and decided to try the Hampton. It was great - everything was great....BUT>......120.00??? for Hays, Ks?????? we continued our vacation on to Albuquerque, NM and stayed at a great Hampton for 79.00. So would we stay at the Hampton in Hays again? definitely.....but there is no reason their prices can't be more competitive particularly with 3 other newer hotels just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
330 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

We always find Hampton Inns to be great places to stay for a night or two. The Hays Hampton Inn did not disappoint. We had a large king-size room with a large walk-in shower which suited us fine. The room was very clean with good amenities.

The breakfast area was nice and the food good -- always like to have at least one hot choice -- but the eggs were a bit rubbery. We will definitely stay here again when we are in Hays for a Fort Hays University ballgame.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I always start with this: would I stay there again? There are 4 hotels right next to each other here, I've stayed at them all and they are all just fine, so I'd stay here again if it had the best price. The new Best Western next to it is probably a little nicer with similar features, the other two I think offer not quite as many features but are perfectly fine.

What I liked about the Hampton: large bathroom & shower, nice showerhead, very nice room overall. We stayed here because my wife wanted to use the exercise room, but then hurt her back so we didn't get a chance. We met people at the IHOP that shares the parking lot, which I considered a plus, but it means I can't comment on the complementary breakfast.

What I didn't like: all minor nit-picking things. The pillows were a bit overstuffed and firm for my tastes. Cheap sand-paper like toilet paper (why do even nice hotels do this???). Water so soft I never felt like I could get the soap off (some people might consider the overly soft water a plus). No vent in the bathroom so the room could get a bit stuffy. It was amazing dry in the room, I even saw sparks from the toilet paper! The internet was quite slow, and I was frequently bumped back to the hotel web page to type in the access code. In fact the morning we left the wired internet did not work at all, I never got past that page, and had to use the wireless instead. Finally, I hate to bring this up but there was a funky smell in all the hallways, although inside the room it was fine.

Overall it was a nice hotel, and as I say I'd stay there again if they had the best price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank M421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

everything was great!!! very clean rooms, comfort beds, friendly servise, everything was clean!!! congrats!!! to housekeeping servise!!

Helpful?
2 Thank lacoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#10 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Property: Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Address: 4002 General Hays Rd, Hays, KS 67601-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hays
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hays-North Of i-70 Hotel Hays
Hays Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing