We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to be in Hays!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Garden, FL
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Happy to be in Hays!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived on 28 June 2013 after a long drive from St. Louis. This is a very nice hotel just North of I-70. The staff placed us in Room 124 which was perfect: first floor within striking distance of the breakfast area, per our request. The room was exceptional, based on a new design we've seen from time to time, with plenty of furniture for sitting or for suitcases, and with a bathroom placing the toilet in its own area facing the shower as opposed to facing the door as is the norm. Well done! Total for stay: $122.36.

***TRAVEL ALERT*** reference a "high priced" gas station adjacent to the road leading to this Hampton Inn and the other hotels nearby. This gas station (GOTTSCHALK ENT on the receipt) charged $4.399/gallon of Premium gas. South of I-70 (1/2 mile away) a name brand station (I C 66 on the receipt) charged $3.559/gallon of Premium gas, a difference of $0.84/gallon. Result: I was GOUGED $7.64 for the $40.00/9.093 gallons I bought just before I arrived at the hotel. The price was suspect, so I filled the remainder of the tank up the next day at the name brand station ( I C 66).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and were met with friendly service and found a clean,comfortable, spacious room waiting for you. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the layout of the room and the location!

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    165
    54
    19
    6
See reviews for
197
155
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great beds and very clean. I got there late and the staff was very helpful. The pool was a nice way to get the blood moving in the am (7) before a wonderful full breakfast...IHOP is next door if free doesn't work for you. The bathroom was well stocked with towels and very clean...sheets and beds were very clean as well. I did not get an opportunity to use the wifi but hooking up my phone did not seem to work...if you have Sprint, you are roaming in Hays. My phone quickly went dead. And, yes I forgot my house charger.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and were met with friendly service and found a clean and comfortable room waiting for you. I am also glad to hear that you were able to make use of our pool and enjoyed the variety we offer at breakfast! Unfortunately, Sprint has changed their towers and our location is now roaming for Sprint users. I am sorry we didn't have any extra chargers for you to use for the night.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When traveling from KC to Colorado this is a perfect place to stop. The place is clean and well kept. They have nachos and cookies in the evening. The young ladies that have checked us in have always been friendly and outgoing the young man that checked us in on our way back from Colorado was a bit distant and uninterested in our questions. When we asked if there was a chair in the room other than the desk chair he said no. There were no other rooms to move to so we said we would just take turns in the chair, but as it turned out there was a very nice chair in the room. I think he needs to get a lesson in what the hotel has to offer. When we came back down and told him his answer was "Hmm".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am happy to hear that you were welcomed with a clean and comfortable room and enjoyed our property. I am glad that you got to enjoy our evening snacks that we offer through the week! I am, however, sorry to hear that our staff on your way back was not as friendly as the other staff you encounter on your stays. I will make sure that our staff is aware of the amenities that we offer and make sure they are friendly and responsive to any and all questions or issues guests may have.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Could not get the fan to stay on when using the thermostat. The fan went off and on all night. Couldn't sleep. The manager on duty the next morning didn't seem to care that I had a bad night sleep. I have stayed at this hotel two times before for a week at a time and never had an issue. These employee seemed to busy to be friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 282chandlerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that you had issues with you fan and temperature in your room. There is a setting that can be changed on the unit to have the fan running at all times without shutting off. I will have our maintenance staff show our front desk staff how to apply that setting. I am also sorry to hear that the front desk staff was not more helpful to your situation and was not responsive to your issue. I will make sure our staff is aware of the issue and make sure they know how to remedy this for any future stays.

I sincerely apologize for this and hope that you stay with us in the future.


Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, CO
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We checked in on a Friday night at 6 pm. No line at the desk and very nice desk clerk. We were on the 4th floor in room 403. Room was fine except for I found the furniture placement a little odd. The bed faced the window which I did not like. We had a view of the Home Depot. Bathroom was very large with a shower instead of tub. The room seemed clean and we had no problems. Seemed a little expensive through for Hays at $120 room rate. If we were not Hilton Honor gold members we may not have stayed here at that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlerock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and were met with friendly service and found a clean,comfortable, spacious room waiting for you. All of our King rooms have the walk-in shower and our Queen rooms have the shower with a bathtub. I am sorry to hear that our furnature arrangement was not what you expected. I will see if there is a way for us to rearrange the room differently and not have the bed facing the window.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby,TN, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were only there one night. We arrived very late and were so happy to have a nice place to sleep! Very friendly staff! My husband was on business in the area and I was traveling with him. The hotel was clean and in a very good location. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and were met with friendly service and had a clean,comfortable waiting for you. I am pleased to hear that our location was easy to find and that you enjoyed everything we have to offer.
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Francis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This Hays Hotel is excellent, very clean and inviting. Has a very nice breakfast and space to sit. Rooms are spacious and beds are good. Pool and hot tub are good, easy access to the internet. The hotel is easy to find off I-70.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah A, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and were met with friendly service and found a clean,comfortable, spacious room waiting for you. I am also glad to hear that you were able to find us easily off of the highway and that you enjoyed all of our hotel's amenities!

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#11 of 13 in Hays
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Property: Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Address: 4002 General Hays Rd, Hays, KS 67601-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hays
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hays-North Of i-70 Hotel Hays
Hays Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing