We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a one night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stay there as a midpoint between destinations. The room was clean and typical of a Hampton Inn. Unfortunately they have gone totally green for the cups in the room and at breakfast. We both like water at the nightstand and the paper cups don't work very well. Cudos to Jared at the front desk who found two glasses for us. We had a fire alarm at 10 pm. It stayed on for about a minute. The front desk Told us that someone accidentally actuated a pull station. They have a regular size washer and dryer for a dollar. They also had detergent and dryer fabric softener as complimentary-nice touch. Jared provided the menus that delivered to the hotel. The breakfast was the standard fare.

We wanted a first floor room. However the first floor has the king beds and were sold out. We ended up with two queens on the second floor.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beavscabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there!

Thanks for your review! I'm very glad to see that Jared was able to accommodate you with glasses that better served your needs; I'll make sure to let him know of your appreciation.

I apologize for the false fire alarm, but am glad it was silenced immediately.

You are correct - we only have single kings available on the first floor. For any future reservation, just make sure to let us know that you prefer a first floor room and we will do our best to accommodate.

Thank you again for your time and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    157
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
179
142
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night the week of Oct. 28th 2012. The hotel was very clean. The wireless which was free was not very good. I would be booted off about every 10 mins or so. The breakfast was ok. Oatmeal was ice cold it looked like they just forgotten to plug it in. Staff was very friendly and I would stay again. I have had some bad stays at different places in Hays.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for posting a TripAdvisor review about your recent stay! I apologize that you had some trouble with the internet connection; we have a technician here this week helping us with an upgrade to our network. We should have a much more reliable connection once this update is complete.

I will also make sure that all breakfast food that is supposed to be warm, stays warm and I apologize that you found the oatmeal to not be in this condition!

I am happy to see that you will return to our property -- I greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you back with us.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spotless hotel! The staff is friendly and helpful. Located right off the I 70 at exit 159 on the North East corner. The room has a very nice desk that is idea for the business traveler (I did my expense report and had plenty of room). Nice flat screen with plenty of channels. Coffee pot is NOT located in the bathroom. My room had a microwave and refrigerator.
When business brings me back to Hays I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi there!

First, thank you so much for your kind review regarding our hotel and your recent stay!

I am so happy that my staff was able to accommodate you and that you were able to get your work done in a comfortable setting! For your next stay, I wanted to let you know that we do have coffee makers in the room; they brew individually and are not a typical "coffee pot" that one might think of. Every room does come with a microwave and refrigerator as well, and I'm glad that you were able to utilize these amenities.

We do also have fresh coffee in the lobby at all times, if that is more convenient for you!

Thanks again for your business, your time, and your loyalty. We look forward to having you back on your next business trip!

Have a great day and please feel free to let me know if there is anything I can do for you and your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed here. This time is was the last night of a nine night road time. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very pleasant. There were even cookies when we checked in. The only negative that I have is that the breakfast attendant was not out in the breakfast area. Twice I had to knock on the pantry door to get something from her. Once I spilt milk and wanted to tell her and the other time there was no sugar for the coffee. She had just been out because she was refilling the regular coffee with I asked for sugar. But other that that one small issue it is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the back side if possible. You will not hear the highway noise as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madaboutred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi there!

Thank you so much for the review! Your loyalty is greatly appreciated.

I apologize you weren't able to reach the breakfast attendant right away. With any future stays, if you have any trouble with the breakfast area, our Front Desk attendant is happy to help you as well. I am happy to see you found a quiet room and friendly staff -- we love having you here!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

-Katie & the team at Hampton Inn-Hays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

As with all the other Hamptons we stayed in this one was most clean and comfortable. Check in and check out easy. The rooms are spacious, bathroom with plenty of counter space, WIFI was fast and we did not find any noise to be disturbing. We ate at the IHOP across the parking lot twice and that I will also review. Since we were tired of "hotel food" we went to IHOP again in the morning before leaving, Another plus with Hampton Inns is that they have a "breakfast to go" a brown bag with a bottle of water, muffin, apple, mints and breakfast bar. We usually took one of those along for a snack when we didn't want to stop. We will definitely stay here again if in the area,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm happy to see that you had a wonderful stay and we do look forward to having you again when you're in the area. Between our breakfast in house, the "On the Go" breakfast bags, and the IHop across the street, we certainly have many breakfast options!

Many thanks,

Katie McCall & the Team at Hampton Inn-Hays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here recently while crossing Kansas.

This hotel is fairly new, very clean and nice. The downside is the noise from the Interstate nearby. It seemed we were constantly hearing the engine compresssion from semi trucks roaring by. Our room was on the front of the hotel. I wonder if rooms on the back side would be quieter?

On the upside, there are some restaurants nearby, including an IHOP just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2V2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for posting a review about your stay. I apologize that you heard some traffic noise from I-70; being so close to the interstate does come with that downfall, at least for our light sleepers, but it also makes us very easy to find!

I'm glad you found the restaurant location convenient and we'll look forward to having you stay with us anytime you're back in the area!

Thank you again from the entire team at Hampton Inn-Hays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here on our way home to MO from CO. Everything thing was clean, the beds were comfy and the A/C was cold. We would definitely stay here again! Another bonus is that there is a Freddie's right down the street...we don't have one where we live and it's always a treat to find one! You won't be disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us! I'm glad to hear we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. A lot of time was put in to creating a "perfect" bed for the Hampton brand, and I think they got it just right!

Freddy's is just about to celebrate their 3-year anniversary of opening here in Hays -- it's so nice to find a surprise of something you enjoy but don't get to have all of the time!

Thank you again!
-Katie & the team at Hampton Inn-Hays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#10 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Property: Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
Address: 4002 General Hays Rd, Hays, KS 67601-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hays
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hays-North Of i-70 Hotel Hays
Hays Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing