We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Hays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Hays”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good, clean hotel in Hays. Overall, nothing made it stand out so that is a good thing.
The breakfast was standard fare and the front desk staff were friendly.
I slept fine and the bed was good.
I would stay there again if needed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mcrogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
The staff here at the Sleep Inn, Hays Ks. you will always find friendly. We try our best to meet all your needs. It sounds as if we did. To you a big THANK YOU for giving us the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
53
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The service was great. The sleep was comfortable. The rooms were in good condition. The breakfast consisted of hot biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, link sausage, make your own hot waffles, cold boiled eggs,yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit. I also appreciated that there was an outlet box at the desk containing three outlets and two USB ports.

It should be noted that the sofa bed was only a loveseat so the pull out bed was only a twin size. The size is not specified in the description so this is good to know if you are planning on sleeping for six.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FabRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We here at the Sleep Inn, Hays Kansas, Want to say Thank you. Our guest are great. This is why the staff enjoy their job here. Good to know you like our new plugins on the desk. We have also put in new roller desk chairs. Yes the pull out is made for only one. The suites sleep only 5 people. Hope to have you stay with us agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My friends and I checked into the Sleep Inn to gather for our annual FHSU get together. Our air conditioner was rather noisy and Edna moved us even after the attempt was made to blow it out to clean. Every attempt to make our stay a good one was done.
Now, if you stay overnight - you need to stay and eat breakfast because Lorelei will do everything to make your eating experience a great one!
There is a slight odor in the hallways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We here are always here for the FHSU get together. Several have been coming for years. My staff Edna & Lorreli, & others love their job & guest. When things go wrong we all try to take care of it ASAP. Thank hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I checked in and noticed a foul odor, the smell got worse the further I got. Made me feel sick. I checked immediately. Told them the problem, they are not sure they can refund. Bed spreads were old and smelly, furniture was stained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am sorry their was an odor that bothered you. The comment about refund was due to how your room was booked. The bedding is the new standard for the hotel. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our staff tries very hard to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were driving to Colorado so we booked a hotel in Hays Kansas to stay the night. this hotel had reasonable prices. First thing we noticed when we were entering the hotel there was rat traps right outside the door that smelled hideous. Also the entrance to the stairs to get to the rooms is completely trashed and dirty. The laundry room only has one washing machine FYI. Now the room. The rooms seamed like the weren't updated in 20 years. They were CLEAN but far from new.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am sorry we didn't meet your needs. I don't quite understand your comments as we don't now or have ever had rat traps outside. The stairways are vacuum daily by the housekeeping staff. We have done a lot of the new upgrades for the hotel. We put new wood tile in the lobby,& breakfast room & elevator. Added new exercise equipment. New guest computer. Walls in room & bathroom painted this year. All the new bedding in rooms. I am very sorry I can't fix what doesn't sound like our hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

As we were traveling through Kansas we stopped at the Sleep Inn for the night. It was right off the highway and was good place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was kind, there was a little smell in our room for the first couple minites but it went away quickly. While we were staying there we went to Gellas Diner and Liquid Bread Brewing Company and those were great also. Overall I cannot complain about the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleRolofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about how clean our hotel the Sleep Inn, Hays Ks. is. Our housekeepers take great pride in their rooms. They want you to have a very nice comfortable evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We travel through Hays, Kansas quite regularly, and we are more than impressed by the service every morning provided by Lorelei Williams. She is always polite, professional, and engaging. She hustles about and takes pride in her work.

We stay at many Choice Hotels, and Lorelei is by far one of your top employees!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen K, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hays, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments about the Sleep Inn, Hays Ks. Yes Lorre is just the icing on the cake. She cares about her guest. No one is a stranger here. Everyone is family. See you again when you travel across Kansas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Butterfield Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#11 of 13 in Hays
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Hays

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Address: 1011 E 41st St, Hays, KS 67601-9495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Hays 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Hays
Hays Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Hotel Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing