We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is north of I-70, just past Walmart.

We had a king room with a hide-a-bed. The room was great - very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious. The bed was great and my 11-year-old son had no complaints about the hide-a-bed.

Check in was easy. The property is very clean. We would stay here again if we needed to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springjacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank-you for your great review of our property. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay. We look forward to you staying again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having grown up in Hays, KS, I can say with confidence that this is the best hotel in town. If you are an upscale traveler used to high-end lodgings, this is as close as you will get in western Kansas. The building is new, clean, and well-maintained throughout. The rooms (and bathrooms) are spacious and well-appointed with most of the attributes one would expect. On two recent, brief stays I occupied in two different rooms and I found the staff friendly, the rooms clean, all systems operative, all furniture and bedding comfortable, and climate control entirely satisfactory. The exercise facilities, while limited, are up-to-date and operate properly. Two computer terminals are available at no cost, though they both repeatedly closed me out when I was checking my email, for no reason I could discern. There is no restaurant on-site, but no hotel in town houses a restaurant since the old Holiday Inn closed some time ago. The location is somewhat remote, to the north of town, but in a community of this size that is fairly meaningless. The breakfast bar is adequate but unremarkable; some sort of egg-and-cheese thing seems to be a constant, and during my stay the other hot item seemed to rotate between biscuits and gravy and extremely dry ham. While I am more accustomed to luxury hotels (see my other reviews), I feel certain that if, for some reason, one has to stay in Hays, KS, one can do no better than the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks for your review about your recent stay with us! I'm very glad to see that you enjoyed nearly every aspect of your stay. We currently rotate different options for the the cheese omelets and the ham with sausage links or patties. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you return to our property again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

First stay at a HIE. There is nothing to say about this hotel except everything was excellent. We have since stayed at another and in the near future will look for a HIE before considering other hotel chains.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank-you for your recent comments about our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you aging in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rooms are spacious and comfortable beds. Fast check-in, and staff are very friendly and helpful. They also called adn checked to make sure everything was Ok with the room after check-in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I want to thank-you for your positive comment about our hotel. We alway like to what we are doing right. Thank-you for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here while traveling through Kansas. The rooms were clean, large, comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Our young children loved the salt water swimming pool and the adults loved the whirlpool hot tub. We would stay here again. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review about your recent stay! I'm so happy we were able to accommodate your needs and it nice to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub!

We look forward to having you and your family return soon.

Thank-you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Accommodations were very clean and comfortable. Nice decor, nice towels, great breakfast and dining area. Rooms even have a mini-fridge and small microwave. Close to the interstate. We had a super late check-in (3am) and staff was friendly and accommodating. We were traveling cross country and needed a place to stay last minute. I was a little worried about what kind of hotel we might end up at because I-70 through Kansas is somewhat barren but booked this due to great recommendations on trip advisor. This hotel lives up to all the positive reviews - we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgetb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about your recent stay! I'm so happy we were able to accommodate your needs and exceed your expectations and your great review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

New, clean, great bedding & bathroom, free hot breakfast (wonderful cinnamon rolls & make-it-yourself pancakes, biscuits, yogurt, selection of juices, etc). This is our 2nd time staying here & our 7th or 8th stopping through Hays & this is our new go-to hotel here. The pool is very nice and clean & the hot tub felt great after 12 hours in the car. My only complaint is the walls seemed a bit thin - I could hear our neighbors talking & a small child crying most of the night. Think the price is just a bit higher than other similar hotels in the area.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rogueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that we have been the best hotel you've stayed at in Hays and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Margie Dansel, the GM of the Hays Kansas Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#10 of 13 in Hays
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays

Address: 4650 Roth Ave, Hays, KS 67601-4704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hays
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hays
Price Range: $102 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing