We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold weather blues”

Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Hays
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four original buildings from the frontier days of Fort Hays.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
“cold weather blues”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

a cold front came in suddenly which made the air show a bit uncomfortable and there was not much to do in Hays.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HKmac1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
309 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Different type of Fort Hays......”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In an earlier review I wrote about a Fort Hays in South Dakota where the buildings where old and there were people who demonstrated how things might have been done back in 1800's.

This Fort Hays, we stumbled upon just by chance and wasn't even going to stop but we are glad we did. Located in Hays, Kansas it's not very big but the staff there are very friendly and helpful. They are very informative and you get a personal guided tour of the two main buildings filled with items from the past of how soldiers may have lived with their families if in was a quarter master.

After the tour of the buildings you are free to roam the grounds and read all the informative signs that tell you about life at the fort.

And if you get the chance you may even get to see the herd of Bison that are penned across the street from the fort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pretblueye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“very informative & fun”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

we had a personal guide to some of the outbuildings full of information; I loved the informative videos/ movies - my two teenage children learned something and enjoyed our visit; took only an hour or so to visit but I felt it was worth the time and money to gain a picture of life of the times when Fort Hays was established; I enjoyed seeing the restored officer houses with period furniture

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the time to see”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We found the fort to be interesting and informative. You are given a tour through the Officers Quarters which was neat to see how they lived back then and were impressed with the living conditions for that time frame. It took us an hour to roam around the grounds visiting the different buildings to include the gift shop and brief movie. It cost $5 for each adult and $1 for our child.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great display of history”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice people. Interactive displays and you could dress up in an army costume.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Hays State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Hays State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing