We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gooooood spot ”
Review of Hostel The Roof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel The Roof
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Really very nice here. The private dorm beds with curtains are a great touch. Roof top area being renovated and will be great soon to. Also pretty quiet for the area and super close to pretty much everything.
Oh and the staff are top notch !!!
Thanks

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Quinten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Price was very cheap and it's in a great location. Bathroom was always clean. Comfy and sturdy beds. Mattresses are good - pillows a bit hard, though. Bloody hot here in Cartagena so it's the same in the hostel but they do have fans running all day and the air con is on in the dorm at night. Probably not great if you're hoping to just laze in bed all day, though. Roof top is nice to watch the nightly lightning and to catch a bit of a breeze. Very basic kitchen but it has the necessities and you can cook here - stove top. Really friendly staff and super cheap laundry service! All up, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and would've stayed even longer! The owner speaks perfect english and will not hesitate to help you in any situation.

Pros:
+great value for the price!!!
+friendly,helpful staff (almost everyone of them speaks
english)
+nice rooftop terrace to hang out
+clean bathroom towels for guests (for free)
+laundry service
+a/c
+clean facilities

Cons:
-no breakfast
-no window in the dorm rooms

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dankpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We judged it by the price alone and we thought it would be pretty dumpy, but it was the exact opposite! They have pretty new beds with individual cubbies that have an outlet inside! Cartagena can get pretty freaking hot, but they have AC in the rooms, and it never got that hot up there since there was good circulation. Unlike the hostels on Calle Media Luna, they have the right price for their location and space, and the staff there is very cool and bilingual. Loved it.

Room Tip: The dorms stay cool all day if everyone leaves the door shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we came to Cartagena in a deep evening and everything was full, but we got a visit card of the roof hostel and they had a place for both of us and for a good price for this district. 20 000 per person (july 2013, change rate is 1 900 pesos for 1 american dollar). So we stayed there, for 3 nights and returned there again after our 2 nights trip to Playa Blanca. Hostel has a AirCondition, that is very rare for historical district hotels here in Cartagena and nice cafe with chicken combos just downstairs. So. it was very convenient in terms of price, place, facilities and stuff. They offer wifi, warm shower, help with everything you need.
I liked this hostel, it seems to be new, so everything is fresh and work good. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: best choice to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasta_c_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I decided to stay at The Roof for a couple of nights, and it ended up being the best decision I made! This hostel is conveniently located in the heart of Cartagena, close to the beautiful plazas in the old city. The rooms are clean and have AC (a commodity in Cartagena, where some places offer only a ceiling fan). They offer towels, free wifi, refrigerator, and even complementary Colombian coffee every morning; everything for a very cheap price.

The best of all was the rooftop. It is a nice place to watch the sunset, have your meals, and enjoy the morning coffee. The owners even host fun parties in the rooftop! Altogether it was a great experience for an amazing price. Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank victorgadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena District hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 205 in Cartagena
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
#13 of 205 in Cartagena
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 156 in Cartagena
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Arrecifes
Hostal Arrecifes
#103 of 169 in Cartagena
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel The Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel The Roof

Address: Centro, Avenida Venezuela # 9-63 Apto 03, 130013, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena District
Price Range: $20 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel the Roof is a NEW hostel, on the third floor of a colonial house located in the walled old city, just blocks away from The Clock Tower and Indian Catalina,surrounded of all of the charm of Colonial Cartagena and its historic, churches, museums and monuments,within easy walking distance. We are also right next to the historic barrio of Getsemaní and its bars and bohemian vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel The Roof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing