We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ventilation -- but nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Goodland
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Goodland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My mom and I were on a road trip from VA to OR/CA and back again. Each night we had to look for a pet-friendly room for us and her 2 dogs. We also needed either a well ventilated smoking room, or one that had a balcony/patio for my mom to use to smoke. We first looked at the Best Western, but felt the rooms seemed a little dark, so we kept looking. Across the highway, we ended up checking into the Holiday Inn Express. At first we were very excited when we saw the room. It was much sunnier than the BW and had nice upgraded bedding for this price range (something we didn't find too often in pet-friendly rooms on this trip).

Having grown up w/ my parents smoking, and being a social smoking adult from time to time myself, I can usually handle sharing a smoking room with mom, as long as the windows open and there is a good exhaust fan in the room or bathroom. However, we soon discovered a few things that made the experience of sharing a smoking room far less tolerable. We were told at check-in that the window opens, however it turned out to only open about 2 inches. The room also smelled of that horrible perfume stuff some hotels use to "try" to cover up smoking and pet odors. It was far nastier & nauseating to smell than any smoking/pet room we staying in over the 3 weeks were were on the road. There appeared to be an exhaust system in the bathroom, however it didn't work. When I called the front desk she claimed it wasn't broke, that the bathrooms just didn't have exhaust fans and that we were in the last pet-friendly room they had for the night. So, moving was not an option.

I quickly wished we could trade our perfumed room w/out ventilation for the dark room at the Best Western. Live and learn to thoroughly check over a room before saying you'll take it. In fairness, if I didn't need a smoking room, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 213 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

I've stayed in Goodland a few times over the years and I'd say the Holiday Inn Express is the best in town...for the fact that it's new, if nothing else.

Our room was perfectly acceptable. The thermostat didn't seem to be working exactly right, but that wasn't a big deal. The biggest complaint I could come up with is the t.v. remote doesn't work exceptionally well. You kind of have to have bullseye aim when pointing it at the exact sensor spot on the t.v. (This is a problem with the brand of t.v. they use, as the fitness center t.v. had the same problem.)

Kind of a nice exercise room for a property like this.

The breakfast bar was a dissapointment. Staff didn't do well with keeping items in stock.

Otherwise, staff was fine and room was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

New hotel, the rooms are very spacious and clean. The lobby is very well done, makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank raf145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Nice new hotel. Just opened in June. Rooms and hotel very clean. Nice service. Front Desk very accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

The other Goodland motels didn't get very good reviews and even though this one didn't have any review, it was new. And it was a good choice. Nothing bad at all. Clean, good staff, great continental breakfast (I don't travel much but was amazed what pigs people are when its "free" - its breakfast, folks, its not supposed to be a chance to eat and then walk out with your next three meals and snacks in between). And while it was about $20-30 higher than others, it was well worth it according the poor reviews of the others. It is a little farther off the interstate than the others too so there was no highway noise.

It will be our only choice in Goodland.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goodland hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Goodland
Super 8 Goodland
#2 of 6 in Goodland
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Goodland
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Goodland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Goodland KS
Motel 6 Goodland KS
#4 of 6 in Goodland
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Goodland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Goodland

Address: 2631 Enterprise Rd, (I-70 and Hwy 27), Goodland, KS 67735-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Goodland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Goodland
Price Range: $111 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Goodland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Goodland, Kansas Conveniently located off of Interstate 70 and just east of the Colorado border, our Goodland, KS hotel is the perfect place to stay as you explore Goodland. Leisure travelers lodging at our Goodland, Kansas hotel will enjoy a comfortable stay while they experience all that the city has to offer. Those interested in history will love the nearby High Plains Museum and Kidder Massacre Site, while art lovers will enjoy the giant reproduction Van Gogh painting of sunflowers and the Carnegie Arts Center. Excellent fishing and hunting opportunities can be found just minutes away, as can the Sugar Hills Golf Club. Conveniently located near the National Weather Service, the Goodland Regional Medical Center and many local schools and businesses, our hotel in Goodland, Kansas is perfect for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Both our meeting room and the 24-hour Business Center are available to help you host events, as well. During your stay at our pet friendly Goodland, Kansas hotel, be sure to enjoy a swim in the indoor pool and whirlpool, surf the web with free high-speed Internet access or workout in our Fitness Center. You can eat well every morning at the free hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, as well as other breakfast options. Check out our great Goodland, Kansas hotel deals and rates, and book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Goodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Goodland
Holiday Inn Goodland
Goodland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Goodland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing