We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more interacitive than most zoo's.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanganyika Wildlife Park

Tanganyika Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Goddard
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Much more interacitive than most zoo's.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is not as big as some zoo's but it is much more close up. Kids love it. They have most of the usual selection of animals. Usually have some new ones that have been born on display. Opportunities to pet and touch several animals. Take the kids!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank b2buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    36
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A one-of-a-kind wildlife experience..worth seeing again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been to this park several times. My grand daughter loves it way more than the actual zoo here locally. It's a smaller park...more intimate for visitors. You are able to get right up to feed the giraffes, go inside the Lorikeets (sp?) cages and for a few cents for food---have them light all over you--great for kids and picture taking. Love the Lemur Island the best---for the price of a Craisin-- these silky furred animals with the huge eyes will come up to you and sit on your shoulder and gently take it from your hands. The monkeys that swing overhead and call to each other on their own island are great fun to listen to. When I was last there they had an albino alligator of some sort that was under an enclosed tent and it was really entertaining to see. The grounds are well laid out, the exhibits are clean and easy to view the animals from. You can also go in and walk around by the kangaroos, and ride an elephant (or camel I think). They also have some smaller areas where kids can feed the cutest baby goats, bunnies and other smaller animals in small walled in fences. Animal food is inexpensive and from vending machines or purchased from staff (lettuce leaves). There is a small playground for kids, and an outdoor restaurant that's pretty reasonable and good for dogs, burgers and ice cream. The venue is lovely with waterfall and also makes a great backdrop for weddings and reunions. They also have some glass windows when you first enter where you can see baby leopards, etc. in cages inside with their blankies and stuffed toys--they are adorable to watch playing! Well worth a day-trip from anywhere!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DIANE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took a group of elementary children to the park. The animals were nice to look at and we could get very close to the giraffes.
There were bunnies to feed, and see the animal nursery. There was a place to buy something to eat.

Helpful?
Thank brontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy Couples weekend at Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife heard about this Wildlife park from a co- worker and just had to go check it out. We had a 3 hour one way drive to get there but was worth going to. Great facility and grounds. Everything so clean and modern. Prices very reasonable and all the staff people are just as friendly as can be. Hands on experience with the animals is what made this visit a blast. Its definitely a great place to bring your little ones and if you are an animal lover.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“family time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

So wished we had time to go here more often, it is a wonderful place to visit. The staff is full of information on the animals and you get to touch and hold some of them. I love Tanganika Wildlife park and so do the children!!

Helpful?
Thank Pam101Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanganyika Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Tanganyika Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing