We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden city pool”

The Big Pool: World's Largest Hand Dug Swimming Pool
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Garden city pool”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I understand it's the "biggest pool" around here. It's dirty, needs to be updated. U could see the dirt that got picked up on the side of the pool. Bathroom definitely need to be updated.

Helpful?
4 Thank May P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big pool is great!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Sorry for Sage from Wichita. Your review was in December when the pool is closed. Hope your next visit is a positive experience one . Please come again

Helpful?
Thank Backporchsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was a great little zoo which was great to spend he day walking, taking pictures and enjoying the weather. Very we'll maintained.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dirty, no standards.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The history is neat, but it’s not managed well these days. The pool water is disgusting and both times we went it had black film all around the edges.

Way worse than that were the drunken teenagers drinking alcohol out of glass bottles and screaming obscenities at each other while they sailed a football back-and-forth over my family’s heads. We told the staff about it and they did nothing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huge pool near the beautiful Lee Richardson Zoo”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the largest swimming pool I have seen. Recent renovations are kid orientated and the water depth is now sectioned off. This cold water pool is in the Lee Richardson Zoo complex, with the great zoo next door, and a huge shady green grass picnic area, playground, horseshoe pits & ball fields. Come experience the diversity that Garden City is so famous for!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Pool: World's Largest Hand Dug Swimming Pool also viewed

 

Been to The Big Pool: World's Largest Hand Dug Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing