We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flimsy Curtains” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden City Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Garden City
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Flimsy Curtains”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although the room was large and the bed comfortable, the curtains were flimsy and couldn't be closed plus, thin allowing outside lights to shine through. I can understand why "Mixed Bag" (review) complained about the noise. If other guests allow their door to slam shut it's not only loud but also shakes the walls. Be careful of what you say in your room because the adjourning room can hear most of what you say. Breakfast was suppose to be at 6 a.m. At 6:10 there were no lights, no coffee, and, no one in sight. at 6:20 a.m. lights were on, coffee being made, rolls set out, cereal and milk but never did see anyone. Not even at the desk for check out. I am not really sure how to rate this motel. I thought it was expensive for what you got but perhaps it's the going rate for Garden City. If so, I am not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed in this motel a couple of nights in Nov and really liked the room and staff. We asked for a handicapped room in order to have a walk in shower and it was located near the lobby, ice machine, computer, and w/d, so well pleased. Had to come back into town this past weekend, booked the same room a week and a half ago for 2 nights. Came to check in was told the rooms were being remodeled we would be put upstairs for the same price. I asked for a discount since their error, and was said they would be unable to do that. We left went to a motel down the street for almost $20 a night cheaper and was very content.

Room Tip: it is a lobby entry motel so try to get a room near the front, back, or side doors for easy access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I used to stay here all the time and got fed up because it's so hard to get any sleep. The place where I usually stay is full this week, so I'm back here at the Garden City Inn. This is night #2 of a 5-night stay...but I'm going to bail out and go stay somewhere else first thing in the morning. I will tell you why.

This hotel has interior halls. Sounds reverberate. If you stay on the bottom floor, the people above you will sound like they all have four feet each...and they seem to dance the mamba half the night. You'll think the ceiling is coming down. Unless you sleep like a log, you will not be able to sleep if someone is in the room above you.
Since I decided to give this place another try after a two-year absence, I requested a room on the second floor so I wouldn't be disturbed by footsteps. Au contraire. The people next door sounded like they were having football practice. I'm not sure if this place just has no insulation or if they just attract awful hotel guests...but my gosh, it's awful. Bang bang bang, pound, pound, pound. And, the slamming doors...hours and hours of slamming doors.
This morning, someone checked in to the room on the other side of me at 7am....and for a half hour, they were coming and going and slamming the door each time. Glad I was already awake.
I am cognizant of other guests and I close my hotel door quietly, regardless of the time of day. It's after midnight right now, and all up and down the interior hall, doors keep slamming. And slamming. I wish other people would be sensitive to the other hotel guests.

So, the upper floor in this hotel has its issues, too, and being up here has not made the Garden City Inn any better for getting a good night's sleep.

Also, there is no smoke alarm in this room (Room 206). The wires are hanging from the celing. The bathroom light is burned out. The ironing board is so wobbly, it almost fell over as I was trying to iron.
If not for the unacceptable noise level in this hotel, it would otherwise be fine. The room is decently sized; they provide a coffee maker, a frig, a microwave, a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board (albeit, rickety); plus, shampoo, lotion, toothbrush, shower caps and makeup remover pads. The bed is comfy enough and the tv remote works. There is an easy chair and a desk with chair, as well as a table with two chairs.
Their breakfast is on the lean side....fruit, dry cereal, bread (for toast) and muffins. Not much to offer for someone who would like to eat healthy.
If people continue to check in throughout the night, I doubt I will get much sleep. If noise is not an issue for you, you will probably not have any problems. I am quite sensitive to noise which is why I stopped staying here. I'd forgotten just how bad the noise here is.

Room Tip: The noise from 5 Points (the intersection where this hotel sits) can be kind of loud. I requested a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms were clean, had comfortable beds, and I liked how it had a recliner. The room had both a microwave and a fridge, which is great because some hotels do not have both. The clerk at the front desk was nice and friendly. The price was great except for their high tax rate. The only thing wrong was the pool which looked like maybe they were taking out all the water because it was almost empty? Great location because you are close to almost everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabval7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We're always trying to find a good place to stay on our way to climb in the Rockies and this was a nice halfway spot. The bed was very comfortable, great amenities in the room, and the location is nice. The management is friendly and helpful, too. Very clean, and quiet. The only objection that I have is not the hotel's fault: the smell of the cattle yards is dominant at times!

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We moved our daughter to Garden City, and stayed at this hotel. It was clean, had a nice indoor pool and spa. Lots of parking. We felt safe as the exterior doors are all locked at night. Continental breakfast was fine--drinks, donuts, cereal, fruit and toast. The rooms had microwave, small fridge and coffee maker. All in all, this hotel was fine for sleeping overnight. It is a bit older than the chain hotels on the east side of town, but it suited our purpose. The price was very good, and they even discounted for AARP after we arrived. Garden City is not very big, so even if you have plans for another part of the city, it will only take you 10-15 minutes to drive all the way across town. The chain hotels were 40-50.00 more per night. There is a McDonalds across the street, and various small restaurants within 2-3 blocks. A/C was cold and not too noisey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room off the lobby, first floor, and never heard a noise all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TipperKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I cannot comment about the quality or the facilities of either of these motels because they overbooked. We traveled from the other side of Kansas having reserved and notified them that we would be checking in late. On the day of the reservation, we called about 30 minutes before our arrival to find out they had given our room to the people previously in the room the night before that extended their stay without even calling us. The owner offered to send us to their sister much lower quality motel at the same rate, 4 miles separate from our team, with no pool, and no compensation for our troubles or offer to help find or cover the difference at another hotel. We found out the next day that another family in our party received the same treatment. All in all they wanted us to stay in a lower budget room/motel for the same price separate from our party with no apology or offer to compensate us or find us another room in town. Sorry, but this is not good customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garden City hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Garden City
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Garden City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Garden City
Clarion Inn Garden City
#4 of 15 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Inn

Property: Garden City Inn
Address: 1202 W Kansas Ave, Garden City, KS 67846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden City Inn located in Garden City Kansas. We have 43 rooms including a 2 double and a single King Bed Handicapped room. Continental Breakfast free to guest. We offer free high speed 10mb/s connection. Included with the hotel is a heated swimming pool with a hot tub. lots of parking available front and back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Garden City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing