We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing luxery silence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akagera National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruzizi Tented Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wondelgem, Belgium
2 reviews
“amazing luxery silence”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great place to stay. In the middle of nature where you can enjoy the silence, a rarely comfort in those days. Combinated with a most friendly staff and lots of fresh foods. It's heaven to me. Breackfest in the awakening forest, while the sun is comming up, with all the noises of the weaver birds, the fish eagles, and the apes wakening up; you never forget it. That while you are enjoying fresh juice, fruits, toast, koffie. You feel like a king, really. Sleep with the covers open, so you can hear the hippo's and other animals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71Patrick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
42
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Opened recently, the lodge blends world class eco-tourism with first class luxury. Accommodating a maximum of 14 guests and hidden deep within the park, Ruzizi is my favourite weekend getaway in Rwanda.

Set on the shores of Lake Ihema, Rwanda’s second largest, the lodge fits effortlessly into the natural environment (so much so that a tree goes through the reception and out via the ceiling).

From the moment we arrived I knew we were in for something special. Nothing says adventure quite like an electrified fence to keep the elephants out. Our host briefed us on a bad-tempered but well loved elephant named Mutware (meaning chief) who likes to check in at the lodge every now and then. We made our way to the open deck overlooking the lake for welcome drinks from where we spotted crocodiles, eagles catching fish and other magnificent birdlife. Hippos and monkeys are also a common sight.

The design of the lodge is simple yet stunning. A central building comprises a dining room and a well stocked bar. Each luxury tent stands alone, accessible only via a boardwalk to minimise environmental impact and allow animals to reach the lake unhindered. The placement of each tent makes you feel like you are in the heart of the jungle. Nothing beats lying in bed with a good book as monkeys swing from tree to tree outside your window.

After dinner was announced, guests gathered at the large communal table and introductions between strangers soon became laughter among friends. For those unafraid of the dark, a night tour of the park is possible. But after seeing giraffe, zebra, baboon, impala, buffalo and a beautiful sampling of the 500 bird species who make the park home, I was happy to have waited until morning.

A must visit if ever you are in Rwanda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The setting is spectacular, the tents are comfortable (solar powered water heater works its magic also in the early morning) and you can hear the hippos while you sleep.
They could improve the food quality and allow for non-communal dinners to make clients more happy to pay the bill at the end.
Staff is really helpful and overall it is super worth it!
The lodge is a great eco-friendly business and conservation effort, now it is time they work out the hospitality side of it to be 100% amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafalda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really small and quaint. Beautifully appointed for being a tent lodge. Staff very attentive, and friendly. Natural surroundings were beautiful and the elevated walkways were well crafted. You are literally perched right above the lake shore. Hippos nearby in the lake beside our tent. At night they would come out of the water, and graze nearby (within yards). The hippos guttural explosions woke us several times during the night. Nuisance? - a little. Cool - way! A bit pricey indeed, but this is one time quality trumps expense.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KigaliKicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the lodge-so sad! We could have stayed there much longer!! The accommodations are wonderful! The food is amazing and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We only had 1 night to stay, we went at 2pm to book in, and our plan was to go on a game drive (self drive). When we walked in, we felt like they knew us - I greeted them using only my first name, they immediately knew who I am, had minimum to fill it and took us to our tent! The whole experience and lodge was so beautiful and special we just stayed there for the rest of the day! Being from SA seeing the animals wasn't so special as we had seen most, but to be in a Bushveld surrounding next to a lake is amazing and special!!! A must for everyone when coming to Rwanda!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastoneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

With just seven two-person tents, you are usually outnumbered by the very friendly staff. All tents are located at the lakeshore and are connected with the restaurant, reception, fireplace and other tents by wooden boardwalks. The place is fully integrated in the landscape and ecosystem. Therefore you really feel part of the nature.
Tents are really comfortable with electricty and are integrated with the stone bathroom, that even has a nice bath. The water is steamingly hot.
Excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner is served either on the lakeshore terrace or in the main building. The food is very fresh and tastefull and tables are nicely decorated.
If you go to Akagera, this is the place you want to stay if you can miss 150 USD pppn.

Don't get distracted by the availability of a swimmingpool in the Akagera game lodge. That place is really outdated as compared to Ruzizi Tented Lodge. You can still use the pool for 3000 RFr pp, and it is just a 5 min drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akagera National Park
15.4 mi away
Discover Rwanda Kayonza Eco-Lodge
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#11 of 116 in Kigali
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Da Vinci Gorilla Lodge
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#4 of 22 in Gisenyi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruzizi Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzizi Tented Lodge

Property: Ruzizi Tented Lodge
Address: Akagera National Park, Akagera National Park, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Eastern Province > Akagera National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Akagera National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tented lodge is the first of its kind in Rwanda. Ruzizi is built on the forested shores of Lake Ihema, Rwanda’s second largest lake. With only 7 tents, a maximum of 14 guests, the camp is a quiet an intimate retreat. A thatched central lounge area is accessible by boardwalks from each tent, and a large deck under a shaded fig tree. Entirely powered by solar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing