We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Akagera Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akagera National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akagera Game Lodge
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had reserved 2 single rooms... we went there to get away form the city and enjoy the wilderness, hoping for a view of the trees or lake and the sounds of birds.... we got 2 rooms that looked onto the roof of the pool building and we were right next to the generator. Plus, the rooms were dirty.
when we asked for different rooms, we were told they were full, although the dining room was virtually empty that evening.
There was no TV reception, and there was no water (no showers available in the rooms)
At lunch, we ordered 3 salads and had to wait 1h15 for them to come.
It is way overpriced fro what they offer

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 139 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my 4 children in late summer 2012. The staff was very welcoming, and we enjoyed swimming in the pool with its fantastic view out over Lake Ihema all the way into Tanzania. The food in the restaurant was basic but wholesome and tasty. This is not a Four Seasons by any stretch, but we enjoyed our stay very much, including the night time game drive (beware, wear long pants or you could wind up with black fly bites on your legs - - huge, persistent and itchy welts).

As other reviewers have noted, the property is looking a bit tired and the furnishings in the rooms have definitely seen better days, but the property was reasonably clean. As long as you don't come expecting four star accomodations, you should be fine.

Room Tip: If you wind up far from the main reception hall / lodge, you may have to run a gauntlet of baboons w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RwandaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Westay for 3 nights here and the people are very friendly and helpfull but the state of the lodge is terrible!
Everything in the room is many times repeared but still out of order. Taps did not working correct, lights are defect, windows are not to close or open, door is defect and so on!
Next month opens a new lodge about 1 kilometer from this one so if You have to choice........

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We tried to make the best of two nights here; it was tough, The views are good, and the staff are nice, but that's it. DONT order chicken, beef or pork; you will not be able to eat it. Stick with pasta. Unfortunately it's the only game in town for the game park, unless you stay outside and drive in for the day.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Knowing there was no other option, I booked two nights at Akagera in hopes it wasn't as bad as some of the reviews. Well it is. The views from the lodge are beautiful and that's the only good thing I can say about the lodge. The rooms are old and rundown as is the whole lodge. The dinners were inedible and the staff was untrained. The park is beautiful and I wish the Rwandan government would allow another lodge to be built.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First I would like to say that the staff is very friendly and the meals where good although a bit expensive. The rooms however were definitely not worth the 100 USD they charge you. The bathroom looked much like the ones I've seen in India - in low budget places that is! The rooms are old, run down and in desperate need of a big, big make over! The only good thing is the very big and comfortable bed, a shame the mosquito net is not big enough for it. We had fairly new towels, my parents had 2 towels which looked like the baboons had used them many, many times... All of this I could have lived with if I would have paid half the price...

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank janbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

While the lodge was adequate, it was a disappointment - relative to the ads, online presence, etc. The room was shabby and the bathroom not particularly clean. The setting was great, but the room left a lot to be desired. I was glad it was only for one night. The beds were like bricks - and I like a firm bed. Someone who doesn't would have been miserable.

The breakfast was decent, but dinner was a catastrophe. We had been told that we would be able to order off the menu for dinner. Sometime during the afternoon they changed it to a buffet - for 12,000 RWF, or about $20 USD. Our guide said that they changed it when they thought they had two large and captive groups of students. I was there with twelve university students and they were not happy at the thought of spending that kind of money, especially after having had African buffets in Musanze for 1,000 RWF! The dining room relented and allowed folks to put together a plate from the buffet - without salad, dessert, and so forth - for 8,500 RWF.

The highlight - though I quickly turned and re-entered my room! - was walking down the external hallway only to see two baboons strolling toward me. That was unnerving, but cool.

The safaris were terrific, but I do hope that they do some major renovations. Rumor has it that another company plans on building in the area so perhaps that will put some pressure on them to do so.

Oh - and there is one spot in the lobby where you can get a decent wi-fi connection. Other than that, forget it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akagera National Park
0.0 mi away
Muhazi Beach Hotel
Muhazi Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rwamagana
4 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ruzizi Tented Lodge
Ruzizi Tented Lodge
#1 of 3 in Akagera National Park
152 reviews
15.5 mi away
Discover Rwanda Kayonza Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#5 of 23 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Akagera Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akagera Game Lodge

Address: Akagera National Park, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Eastern Province > Akagera National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Akagera National Park
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Akagera Game Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing