We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Balcony from master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony from master bedroom
Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Balcony from master bedroom
Welcome
Wow Factor Kitchen
Farmhouse Table
Master bathroom
Ideal BBQ spot
Summer's Morning
Morning Tide
Breath taking sunsets
Sunset from Balcony
Penclawdd Village
Rhossili
Three Cliffs
Welcome Pack
Offical Members of
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penclawdd, Swansea, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joan B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lyndon Cottage is not as it seems”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lyndon Cottage is very well equiped with everything you need on holiday, it is clean, well equipmed and attractively furnished. However, it is advertised as sleeping six (correct), three bedrooms (correct) and two bathrooms (WRONG!!)
There is ONE bathroom to cater for six guests! Then there is the useful downstairs loo with a washbasin, to save having to form a queue upstairs in the morning!.
There were four of us, so the sitting room was OK but there is not sufficient comfy lounge furniture to seat six, two would have to bring in the dining room chairs or sit in a wicker chair or on a stool.
It must be said that the view out the back is beautiful with the tidal estuary, particularly from the balcony and there are indeed some wonderful sunsets.
Sadly it is a case of lovely house, bad location with up to seven hundred vehicles an hour thundering past the front door and front bedroom windows on the busy main road. Although the volume of traffic reduces during the night, there is still an awful lot of traffic, none of which considers the speed limit and the noise is unbearable. If you are attempting to sleep in one of the two bedrooms at the front of the house, a restful night is out of the question with the really heavy traffic
rumbling past within feet of your bedroom window from about 5.30am. Sadly this also puts you off sitting in the garden - lovely estuary views one side but you can't hear the birds due to the heavy traffic the other side of the fence.
If you ilve in a city where the traffic never stops, then I guess this would not worry you and no doubt you wouldn't take any notice of the constant noise, but sadly, this was not for us and it was a relief to get home again and sit in our own garden. It really is a shame, as the owners have done a fantastic job of refurbishing and furnishing the property and it has to be said that Richard could not have been more helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Thank you for the feedback- as a small family business we have set high expectations and we really appreciate all feedback we aim to get things spot on for all of our guests, we have been confident we had things right from past feedback so I'd love to respond to your comments it's a shame we couldn't have discussed this before a review.
You were fortune effort to spend at week at Lyndon cottage on one of the hottest weekends of the year, which is on the key road to one of the top ten rated beeches in the world and of course the road would be busy during peak months we've never counted the cars ourselves but would question 700 cars an hour. However we don't shy away from this fact that we're on a main road I've ensured this is clear on the cottage details and you'd probably agree as per your comments about the cottage we could charge a significantly higher rate for the cottage if it was on a secluded road. We purposely created a fence where you mentioned you sat in order to enjoy the estuary views in private so we will look at this area again. I do feel that maybe we should have been clearer on the bathrooms so thanks for that and we've updated TripAdvisor as one bathroom and a downstairs wc so we appreciate you for highlighting this. Again thanks for your custom and for leaving the cottage immaculate
Kind regards
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was so comfortable to stay in, it had everything you needed for a very relaxing holiday. The location was perfect for visiting the area, with easy access to beaches and wonderful walks. Even food was not a problem with many eating places within a short distance as well as a small supermarket. We loved it, and would love to return with the rest of our family who we know would enjoy it just as much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
"Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and that Lyndon Cottage and the area gave you everything you needed, Hopefully we will welcome you back some day. Kind regards"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and...
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were so looking forward to our weeks holiday in Lyndon Cottage, Penclawdd and we were not disappointed. It's an excellent cottage and extremely well-appointed and comfortable. Loved the bedroom balcony. Within easy reach of all The Gowers beautiful beaches and places of interest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and that Lyndon Cottage gave you everything you needed, Hopefully we will welcome you back some day
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic cottage every thing you needed and more thank you very much for the Welsh cakes beautiful view from the main bedroom we visited some lovely places and the weather was great we watch the sun rise and sunset we would love to return one day thank you very much David Pamela Linda and Keith

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and that Lyndon Cottage gave you everything you needed. Hopefully we will welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicott
bognor regis
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was superbly equipped with over and above everything you need ! The view from master bedroom was glorious and we all gathered together for tea in the morning and happy hour in the evening in there admiring the view ! We even managed to get out on the balcony with a glass of fizz to see the sunset which was amazing !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
""Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and that Lyndon Cottage gave you everything you needed, good shout we also love sunsets at the cottage especially when you have an evening tide. Hopefully we will welcome you back some day."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeLet...
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect family cottage”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our family of four (myself, my husband, our 10 year old and our toddler) stayed at Lyndon Cottage for a week in March 2017. I really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!

The location was ideal - Penclawdd is a sweet little town within a 10 minute drive of Swansea. The nearby Cafe Cariad and Roma Fish & Chips were great for a quick meal, the coastal walk around the estuary (leading to a nice little playground for the kids) was wonderful, and the neighbours were very friendly... One popped over to tell us about an outdoor market nearby on Saturdays (unfortunately we weren't able to go, but hopefully someone else can take advantage!).

As for the cottage itself, it is magnificent. Recently renovated to an impeccable standard, every room is beautifully decorated and welcoming. There is a dishwasher and washer-dryer for ultimate convenience, and upon request the owner can provide a high chair and crib. The master bedroom with the balcony overlooking the estuary/inlet has beautiful views, and I found the bed very comfortable. There's a lot of room to go around in this cottage, so you could comfortably fit 6 + a baby with no issues.

The owner is very accessible. When we first arrived, there was a bit of an ant presence (very common in South Wales), but the owner was at the house almost instantly to take care of it. Light sleepers may have some issues in the master bedroom, as it is bright and morning traffic is quite audible, but these weren't problems for us and the double bedroom is an excellent alternative.

All in all, I have never come across such a perfectly situated and wonderfully appointed rental. The next time we return to South Wales, we will plan our trip around the availability of Lyndon Cottage, as we can't imagine staying anywhere else. Highly, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
""Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and that Lyndon Cottage gave you everything you needed. Hopefully we will welcome you back some day."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail_Wind...
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“MRS”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Second time we have stayed here and it was just as lovely. The owner is a wonderful lady that goes out of her way to help, nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for yet another great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
""Thanks for the review, we're really pleased you had a good holiday and it was lovely to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing