We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wales at its best”
other travelers have booked this property
Balcony from master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony from master bedroom
Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Balcony from master bedroom
Welcome
Wow Factor Kitchen
Farmhouse Table
Master bathroom
Ideal BBQ spot
Summer's Morning
Morning Tide
Breath taking sunsets
Sunset from Balcony
Penclawdd Village
Rhossili
Three Cliffs
Welcome Pack
Offical Members of
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penclawdd, Swansea, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ian R
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wales at its best”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent base to explore the Gower, comfortable, well equipped etc. and the flowers in the "welcome pack" added a real homely touch. The views of the birds on the salt marshes and estuary were fantastic (particularly while still lying in bed in the morning!). The September sunshine was the icing on the cake to a great break, "Wurms" head, the beaches, Arthur's Stone or just sitting on the balcony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you had a good holiday and that you enjoyed the magnificent views, especially the birds outside on the marsh. we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home with an ever changing view”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was superbly set out, great kitchen, lounge and the most comfy bed. Patio area was lovely and we found to be a sun trap.
the views of the estuary were a real bonus, simple pleasure of watching tide coming in and going out., the variations of birds to view and spot.
really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
Rob and Elaine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything.
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you had a good holiday and that the cottage was everything you expected and more. we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindaOxfo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better equipped than my own home!”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This has got to be the cleanest and most well equipped cottage we have ever stayed in! I tried hard to look for something negative to say, but could not find a single thing wrong in Lyndon Cottage. (the only thing I would say is that the beds are too soft for us, but that is just an individual preference, so not going to take marks off for this)! Spacious, but keeps the cottage charm. This cottage has a lovely homely, welcoming feel about it. Nice to sit and eat outside (weather permitting). We were left fresh milk and bread...and of course those lovely home made welsh cakes!! So welcome after the drive from Oxford, before we went off exploring! Lots of lovely coastal walks, and beautiful beaches, all just a short drive away. Some lovely places to eat, we tried The Grill House (recommend the Duck) The Paprika for a delicious Indian meal (we actually had it delivered with no problems) and the Sea Garden Chinese restaurant, where the food and service were great. Will definitely stay again! Thank you, we had such a lovely relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness and facilities.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased the cottage gave you everything you needed for your break. We hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjwilliam...
1 review
“Wonderful holiday home!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had an amazing stay with my husband and our 2 young children and inlaws over Easter week. Lyndon Cottage is a truly beautiful home from home with everything you could want/need for a relaxing stay. When we arrived at the cottage we were left a bottle of wine, bread, milk, fresh flowers, homemade welsh cakes and chocolate bunnies for the children this was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. The ...cottage is of a very high standard and beautifully decorated. It has a stunning balcony and outdoor area to watch the sunsets and tide coming in and out. Excellent location with just a short drive to many wonderful beaches and local attractions.
Can't wait to book our next stay!!!
Many Thanks
The Williams Family xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2015
Thank you The Williams family, we are so pleased you had a good holiday. We look forward to welcoming your lovely family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M
Newton Poppleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem!”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This lovely holiday home surpassed all our expectations. Great position, every modern convenience and more than deserves its 4* rating. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you found the cottage beyond your expectations, we pride ourselves on getting things perfect ensuring you have everything you need for your holiday therefore its very rewarding seeing your great comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darron197...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb Gower Holiday Base”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Penclawdd. Famed land of cockles and laverbread. From an inlet. With an astonishing tidal range and bio-diversity.

Added to the starring list is Lyndon Cottage, a five star home away from home, bang in the middle of Penclawdd and with the most enviable sight lines over the inlet. The cottage itself is equipped to a very high standard with open plan living down stairs that manages to provide every modern comfort without losing the heart of the cottage which is its heritage.

Top tip. Try and get the double bedroom with the huge balcony that gives you the perfect vista across the inlet. Bring your binoculars, a bottle of wine and a warm jacket and you will be in twitching heaven with all manner of waders, ducks and wild fowl on show at low tide. Then check out the inlet when the tide is in as the huge inlet fills up from the sea with the second largest tidal range in the world.

Outside the cottage there is off road parking for two cars and a more than modest landscaped garden for that perfect cocktail or sundowner.

Penclawdd is the perfect base for your South Wales vacation, with the world class beaches of the Gower Peninsula just a few miles away. The local area has a number of excellent pubs, cafes and restaurants with good food competing with glorious local real ales. Location, location, location they say. Lyndon Cottage in Penclawdd has these three wise men in spades. Oh. And don't get me started on the freshly made and complimentary Welsh cakes that serenade and tempt you in the kitchen as you arrive on your holiday. Class. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2015
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Penclawdd. Hope to see you again soon and many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmaen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We’ve just returned from a wonderful stay here. It has everything you could wish for in a holiday rental and more. The cottage itself is refurbished to a very very high standard with quality fixtures. They have thought of everything you may need during you stay, from the lovely little welcome pack to the binoculars for bird watching over the estuary. The cottage is spacious, yet quaint and has a lovely homely feel. The rooms are large and airy, and are perfect for a group of any size. The Master bedroom is especially beautiful as it benefits from a very large balcony overlooking the stunning estuary.

The location was second to none with Penclawdd and the surrounding area offering all the amenities you would need with a large supermarket, takeaways, restaurants and lovely pubs. The Gower’s beautiful beaches are only a stone’s throw away. Rhosili was a particular favourite of ours.

We would certainly recommend this cottage.

It really is a lovely place!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was great to meet you and your family, we hope you that you will come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing