We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penclawdd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Penclawdd B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were blown away by how good this B&B was. The rooms were top notch and appear to have been either newly decorated or very well kept. You didn't need the mirror as you could see yourself in the polished taps!
We were greeted by a very welcome of tea and cakes when we first arrived which was just the ticket after a long day walking around the Gower.
Our hosts were very helpful and gave us some good suggestions of places to see and places to eat.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plug28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the perfect B&B. Our room was immaculate, beautifully decorated, with a modern bathroom and a bed we didn't want to get out of, except we had to because the breakfasts were irresistible ! Alison and Gareth are lovely people, giving us information on tourist attractions and walks in the area. If you are going to the Gower Peninsular stay here !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Everything was of the highest quality. The breakfasts were perfect. We got lots of tips from Alison regarding pubs and walks.
What more can I say?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 204Barny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Superb breakfast with excellent choice. Never had such a choice offered. Room was immaculate, tasteful and extremely comfortable. Friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Great location for all of the Gower coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second stay, two years apart, and was just as good as the first. Alison & Gareth have maintained a truly gold standard B & B. The welcome, accommodation & food was first class and we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two lovely nights stay at the bay view guest house.Alison and Gareth were excellent hosts offering advice on the gower area and very good places to eat. The room was very nice with a very comfy bed and a really nice en-suite bath/ shower.The.breakfast was probably the best and most varied choice of foods we have had in a b&b and most of the ingredients are locally sourced or home cooked. We highly recommend the bay view guest house.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of property would have good views accross estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruislip
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alison & Gareth's b & b has it all, we spent 3 nights at Bay View for a family gathering in Bishopston, having sampled the delights of Alison & Gareth's hospitality last year it was a no brainer coming back.
The attention to detail of the fittings & furnishings are excellent as is the quality & variety of homemade food including the wonderful cocklepickers breakfast.
We will definitely make this an annual event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynnowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penclawdd
7.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
361 reviews
7.1 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Penclawdd
55 reviews
7.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 5 in Llangennith
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay View Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bay View West End | Penclawdd, Penclawdd, Swansea SA4 3YY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Penclawdd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penclawdd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay View Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star B&B. Super kingsize with large ensuite bathroom or Kingsize ensuite with large shower bath. LCD flat screen TV's & DVD players, free wireless internet, generous hospitality tray, mini fridge with fresh milk and soft drinks included. Comfortable guest lounge. No smoking establishment. Full Welsh breakfast and options including vegetarian (included). Free off-road parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing