We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Place”
Review of Wood Pigeon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raurimu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wood Pigeon Lodge
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Place”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Wood Pidgeon Lodge before and after we did the Tongariro Crossing in December 2013. The lodge is a special place. We stayed in the hut, which is a cosy cabin with perfectly tasteful rustic decor, a porch with rocking chairs, cooking facilities and a beautiful view of the mountain. There was total privacy and it was extremely quiet and peaceful. The owner, Tim, is very warm, funny and helpful. The night sky was breathtaking. If you want to get away from it all and experience the beauty of NZ, this is the ideal place. Our only regret is that we did not get to use the bush bath. The location is isolated, so you will want to stock up on groceries before you arrive. We dream of returning someday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of four stayed at 'The Barn' for only two nights, but it felt like much longer. Compared to staying at virtually any other type of accommodation, this provided more fun and uniqueness than we could have imagined. Rustic and simple, yet exceptionally well stocked with what you need. Washer, 'crank it up' style drying rack in the open area by the upper loft, wood burning stove, room for at least 10 people to sleep, and an intriguing story to learn of how the place came to be. Tim was a tremendous host (the main house on the property is a few hundred meters away from the barn). The kids could not get enough of wandering the fields with the cows and the sheep. We also had a quick look at the Hut (similar feel, but much smaller), and the Tree House - the only structure of the three that was built from scratch to be accommodation (it is virtually self sufficient with wind and solar power, and all three structures get their water from rain). Pick one of the three, and go for it if you are planning any activities in the National Park - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Definitely 6 out of 5 points! This Tree House is located on top of a hill, overlooking the forest. Apart from the exceptional views (Mount Ruhapehu) the design is modern, the layout so fine that one can imagine being isolated for several days without becoming bored. We immediately loved this place! At a clear night you can see the milky way with the naked eye - stargazing in the most romantic way... The house is mainly on wind and solar energy, so the days were also environmentally friendly. Last but not least, the host Tim gave us some stories of the building. Thank you, Tim and Ewan, for giving this place to your visitors! We will try to come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Treehouse last week and had a great time soaking in the magnificent views of Mt Doom and Mt Ruapehu from our verandah. Completely quiet at night and the sky was amazingly clear, nothing but the moon and stars.
The house is very modern and ecofriendly (no microwave or clothes dryer), equipped with a stone oven that requires firewood to work. Great to get away from modern city living. Shower with high pressure and washing machine (which requires a generator to work) included. Beds very comfortable and children had a blast staying in the loft.
Tim was great, even showed a a bush walk trail that led to the river; taught us how to differentiate the silver fern from other more commonly found ferns in New Zealand. Best place to stay if one plans to do the rafting trip in Turangi, which is not far away.

Room Tip: this is their newest accommodation; the hut and the barn also available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We are a family of four with girls 9 and 12 and stayed in the Tree House for four nights. It was well-equipped, clean and has beautiful views. It's near Tongariro National Park with lots of great hikes. We would definitely stay here again. The owners are lovely people and on top of details. The only room for possible improvement would be a better wifi situation and shades in the loft for sleeping (though there are good shades in the master bedroom). But again overall we were very happy with the place. If you go be sure to hire Sarah Cate to take you rafting or hiking.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jolly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Set amidst a small sheep and cattle farm just outside the Tongariro National Park, Wood Pigeon Lodge is a lovely place to stay. We stayed one night in the Tree House and two nights in The Hut. Though very different from each other, both accommodations were very charming. The Tree House is more luxurious and very secluded. It offers a great view and has fantastic bay windows - excellent for just chilling and reading a book.

The Hut is more rustic but equally cozy. Overlooking the paddocks and - more important - the Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro volcano range. In addition to a regular bathroom, it also features a "bush bath", an outside bathtub in the bush, which we enjoyed after we had done the Tongariro Crossing. What an experience!

Tim, the landlord, was extremely nice and helpful and bakes great rhubarb muffins!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Barn in February, so we had plenty of space! The setting is wonderfully peaceful, and a short stroll provides amazing views of the Tongariro volcanoes. The Barn has everything you could need. We loved the decoration, which showed great taste and attention to detail (see photos on the website). Tim was a great host, providing loads of information, and organising our travel for the part of the Tongariro Crossing which was open (a must-do walk!). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raurimu
9.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,583 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
19.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
260 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Pigeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Pigeon Lodge

Property: Wood Pigeon Lodge
Address: 130 Top Mill Road, Raurimu 3989, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Raurimu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Raurimu
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hut at Wood Pigeon Lodge allows you the chance to stay at a romantic rural retreat where no other offers the same. You have views of the Tongariro World Heritage area and the Tongariro Alpine Crossing from your windows at a location away from the noise of a busy tourist village. A cosy fire treats you on a cool night and the views offers NZ at its best. My promise is that you wont be disappointed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing