We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was perfection last year, Its perfection this...”
other travelers have booked this property
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace Lounge / Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace
Lounge / Dining room
Kitchen
Magnolia in back garden, flowering beside the stream
Charlie waiting to go out in the field
Charlie and Danny
our sheep are very friendly
we sometimes have delicious eggs for sale
the duck pond in our orchard
our dogs
Canada Geese and their ducklings visit our Mill Pond
jetty on to mill leat
us, from the end of our lane
the village pub
River Avon
Aveton Gifford village church
Kingsbridge town square
Kingsbridge estuary
Thurlestone Sands
Avon Estuary Walk in Spring
view of River Avon from the Avon Estuary Walk
River Avon tidal road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aveton Gifford, Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
007iknoww...
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It was perfection last year, Its perfection this year with the sun as a bonus.”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

We came last year and nothing was going to stop us coming back this year.
The tide is either coming in or going out, Ducks and Swans come to visit, there are Horses and Donkeys in the fields, Lets be honest its got everything you could need or want. Its called Mill Cottage and the that description doesn't do it justice. I guess you get the feeling we liked it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Thanks so much for the kind review, and we were delighted to throw in the good weather too! Thank you for leaving the cottage so pristine - very much appreciated. Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 5, 2018
Many thanks for you review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage, looking forward to seeing you again some day. Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MalcolmSm...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place with helpful, friendly owners.”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful location and so peaceful - slept like a log!. Our dog made very welcome. Owners great and not intrusive at all - as some can be. Pub + food (OK) within about three minutes walk which is a bonus.

I managed to break the loo seat (no, I don't know how either!) which John replaced, and we split the cost 50:50 which seemed very fair. It now has a wooden 'soft close' seat and it's worth staying just for that!

Good sized TV, which is great - and unusual for a holiday let.

However (and this is detail really)............................

. The old, brown dressers/bookcases in the sitting room really aren't in keeping
with the property.
. I would think that the kitchen was installed in the 60s and badly needs updating
- to include a dishwasher (I haven't washed anything up by hand for about 45
years!) and perhaps a washing machine (although not really necessary for a 7
night stay).
. A disparity in check out time between the owners and 'Holiday Lettings'. They
say 11:00am and John says 10:00am. A tiny detail but deeds rectifying on
websites.

Overall, a wonderful place to visit and relax in a beautiful part of the country. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarFlowe...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just spent a wonderful week at Marsh Mills. Exceedingly well-equipped, very clean cottage which is akin to a tardis! Arrived wound up like a spring with everyday happenings and floated home after a tranquil, relaxing week sitting on the patio watching birds feed, fish in the stream, willowy walks down the garden (bliss). Two adorable, friendly donkeys and two dear little dogs, plus was lucky to spot my first ever Kingfisher! Oh, we want to be back there! Nothing is very far away, a mere ten-minute drive to sea, shops etc. Very good meals in the pub at the end of the lane; saying good evening to the resident sheep on the way. We found Maggie and John to be a very warm and welcoming couple with a wealth of local knowledge. If you’ve not stayed at Marsh Mills before and wondering whether to book, don’t hesitate, book it now. You won’t be disappointed

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you both for your kind words. We are lucky to be in such a beautiful part of the world, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. Looking forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M
Stoke Lyne, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for peace and relaxation”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have come home feeling so chilled out and relaxed it's untrue.
Throughly recommend to relieve the stresses and strains of life.
Looking forward to our next trip to Marsh Mills already.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you Ali, for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your week, including the dog 'Freya', who seemed perfectly at home from the minute she arrived. We look forward to seeing you all again. Maggie and John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Maggie and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
007iknoww...
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If there is such a thing as perfection, then this is it”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We haven't even finished our week and although its raining today (and likely to continue) i can honestly say we have never stayed in a more beautiful and tranquil setting. The only thing missing is a Kingfisher but there is still time!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
So glad you have enjoyed your stay, despite inclement weather, maybe if it is dry tomorrow the Kingfisher will venture out .....
Many thanks, Maggie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing