We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but showing it's age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Emporia
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Nice but showing it's age”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I've stayed here before, about two months ago and wasn't real happy about it so the next time I stayed next door at the Motel 6 and was less happy so I'm back again. Now I can't remember what wasn't right the first time ... but this time ...
When I go to check in, all the ask for is the last four digits of the card I paid with last time, then ask a couple of more questions to make sure it's me and give me a key. Wow, I'm surprised more places don't do that. When I get to a motel I'm ready for a motel, not a half hour chit-chat with the clerk.
Two issues with the room, minor. One, the door is missing it's numbers, the clerk says it 'just happened' but who knows. The other is that the upholstery on the chair at the desk is split, it seems to be from age and wear.
This is an older motel, I think it was still a Holiday Inn a few years ago when I started driving and has changed names a few times since.
The in-house restaurant still seems to draw a crowd, tonight I went next door to Bruff's but might try the in-house next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseInnEmporia, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hello,

Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to help us improve. We are under new management and your comments can only help. We hope to see you again!


Sincerely,
Rebecca Shaffer
Sales and Catering Manager
Guesthouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    14
    12
    19
See reviews for
18
10
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

One thing that bugs us is logding places that say they are non-smoking, yet you walk into a room that is supposedly non-smoking, turn on the ventilation and you smell stale smoke! Folks, in addition to the carpet, drapes, bedding and any upholstered furniture, PLEASE don't forget to change or clean the HVAC filters for non-smoking rooms! Needless to say, this Guesthouse is one of these locations. Thank goodness we had some air freshner we sprayed into the intake a couple of times and it made the room tolerable. Also, heard alot of road noise. Bathroom was tiny, furnishings, etc. appeared old and could use an updating (a stop at Kmart would improve things!), but if you are looking for a place to just for one night that is close to the Interstate, this is probably as good as any and the AAA/AARP rate was not horrible. There are several restaurants at this exit as well. Would probably try to check out other hotels if passing thru Emporia again before settling for this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseInnEmporia, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are under new management and will eventually be changing a few things here at the hotel. We hope you will stop by and see us when we do!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Shaffer
Sales and Catering Manager
Guesthouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeland Park, KS, a KC suburb
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This is an old Holidome that has been somewhat updated. The room itself was clean and ok, but the bathroom, though clean, was ancient. The rate of $79 is WAY overpriced when there are several other new hotels very close that charge about the same price or less.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseInnEmporia, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hello,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to give us some feedback. I would like to let you know that we are under new management and our prices have changed a great deal since your stay. If you would like to give us another try, we would enjoy having you as our guest. Please feel free to contact myself at the hotel directly, as well. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Shaffer
Sales and Catering Manager
Guesthouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The hotel's photos are very misleading! The management did a budget renovation to our room -- cheap new furniture, curtains and bedspreads, along with sloppy, peeling wallpaper -- but they did NOTHING to the circa 1960s bathroom. It was DISGUSTING! See my photos.

The toilet was crusted with a yellow film and the toilet seat looked like someone literally threw battery acid on it. The lid was covered with mold. The tub area was equally crusted, moldy and decaying. The previous occupant's dirty bath towel was hanging on the door.

The old, matted blankets had dead bugs imbedded in them, and I developed "chigger" bites on my torso after our one-night stay, even though I stripped the bed and slept under the sheet only.

If we hadn't been checking in at midnight after driving eight hours, I would not have stayed. It was a horror.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyezandearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseInn, Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, November 5, 2008
This Hotel is under a new management and brand. We have completely renovated the property. Any review prior to February 2008 does not relate to the new management or the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This hotel is old and shows its age -- it has not been very well cared for and was in a run down state. The staff was friendly and helpful but couldn't make up for the condition of the hotel.

When we arrived our room was unavailable because of air conditioning problems. We were upgraded to an executive suite for a few dollars more. It was a two room suite with a jacuzzi -- sounded great, not so fast. The room need a lot of work -- there was mold on the ceiling, the carpet was stained, the lights needed replacing, the jacuzzi was leaking and doors were broken exposing utilities, just to name a few things. The maintenance guys were in our room 3 times within the first few hours of our arrival trying to fix things. And again later in the evening to fix more things.

Outside our room which was like an indoor courtyard -- was a drained pool with some filthy water still left in it. And a ping pong table area which was open to children until 1:00 am. The walls were paper thin and we were unable to block out the children's screaming as they played.

This looks like it was a really nice place at one time but time and abuse have taken its toll and it is a run down mess. We were told, however, that is was under new management and they were trying to fix everything.

  • Liked — The staff was very friendly and did their best
  • Disliked — The place was run down and needed some serious attention
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseInnEmporia, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hello,

I apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel. I would like to extended my sincerest apologies and let you know that we are now under new management! Thank you so much for your comments.

Sincerely,
Rebecca Shaffer
Sales and Catering Manager
Guesthouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Driving north, didn't feel like going all the way to KC, stopped in Emporia. At first, the Travelodge looked closed, the side facing the highway was empty. Took a chance and went in, greeted by a very nice young lady at the counter and checking in went just fine. I was given a room (smoking) on the aforementioned empty side of the hotel. Except for some highway noise it was stone quiet. Even for a smoking room it was clean and no overpowering smoke smell. Furnishings and quality were far above normal for a $40ish a night room. Checked out very early and was greeted by another nice young lady and checking out was even easier.
I highly recommend the Travelodge to anyone looking for a room for the night on a budget. I've stayed in Travelodges around the world and this one is one of the best.

  • Liked — Staff and room
  • Disliked — Highway noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am1scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseInnEmporia, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are now under new management and hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area.


Sincerely,
Rebecca Shaffer
Sales and Catering Manager
Guesthouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Emporia
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Emporia
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#3 of 15 in Emporia
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Emporia

Property: Knights Inn Emporia
Address: 2700 W 18th Ave, Emporia, KS 66801-6157 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management! The Guesthouse Inn and Conference center in Emporia, KS is a charming 129 room hotel with an indoor/outdoor pool, on site restaurant and bar, free wifi and breakfast, fitness center, business center, hot tub, and beautiful banquet space! We have a Ballroom as well as a Dome that is used for Weddings, Receptions,etc. We are a pet friendly hotel located just off KS 35. Close to fine dining and shopping! A perfect place to stay or host an event; come check us out! Please contact us for information at our number for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Emporia
Travel Lodge Emporia
Emporia Travel Lodge
Emporia Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing