We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Emporia
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Ransom, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“okay place to stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Have stayed here three times, staff very friendly. Room was fairly clean. Could use some updates though throughout the whole place. Did not use the pool or hot tub (not sure how clean it was). Would be great if the place had a restaurant (had a place for it). Price was right for the type of motel. The beds could be replaced, the mattress was old. All in all was not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LORI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    14
    12
    19
See reviews for
18
10
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for the Dirty Kanza. The motel is older but is kept up nicely. Rooms were inexpensive. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room however, neither one was plugged in or running. The mattress was shot and made terrible creaking noises but it was comfortable. We had a room inside the dome, next to the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. It was loud. The front desk staff was slow but helpful and attentive. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gustavo_Fring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We hope you comeback for the next dirty kanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I chose this since it was somewhat cheap and we usually travel on the skids. We checked in really late and requested extra towels: the desk clerk said "I can't access that room to get you towels." The room was all right, but it is an old motel. The thermostat in the room didn't work worth a damn, and the room was a little warm. The kicker was this: we had booked this room online. Two months later I get a call from the owner that they DIDN'T CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD FOR THE STAY. Inconvenient, to say the least. I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a fine place to stay on a budget. It was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I had booked with booking.com and had no problems on arrival with my less than $50 room for 2 double beds. We had a microwave and mini-fridge. I asked the desk to copy some documents for me and it was handled very professionally. I also asked about possibility of booking the room for another night if winter storm came in and was offered the same discounted price. This is an older hotel and is showing it's age. The atrium/doom was about 50 degrees, I'm certain it wouldn't have been fun to be in the pool that was listed as inside/outside. The room was clean and bathroom was in good condition. This is a handy location, close to the highway, standard interstate restaurant selection, and a WalMart. No hesitation in recommending this for travelers on a budget or groups like ball teams. Our family stayed here several times for summer ball tournaments, it is a great budget friendly option. Breakfast was sparse.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. Come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were in town for a friends wedding and needed a stay for only one night. Thankfully, we left our son back home with his grandparents because I would not have had him even walk into this room! The bathrooms had a dinge all over it. The heat did not work and we had to be switched into another room. The mirror on the vanity was broken and black in places. I did not want to walk on the carpet barefoot, the sheets were so rough and the pillows were very lumpy. It is def run down. The lobby was recently remodeled but that was the only thing new. The breakfast in the moring had eggo waffles next to a toaster and the worst coffee I have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travienna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay. We are upgrading the property. We hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.s.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros - inside and outside pool, refrigerator with small freezer, microwave, and small coffee pot in room.
Cons - Shower did not work, several outlets in the room did not work, the tub looked nasty. No breakfast.
I would not recommend this hotel for more than a one night stay. There are several hotels in the area I would look at before booking a room here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Mike G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property last year. I am glad you got to utilize our unique pool featuring both indoor and outdoor sections to swim, as well as our in room amenities. I do apologize for the outlets, shower, and breakfast issues. I would like you to know that we have new management that have corrected these issues. Additionally, we serve breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM daily. I would like you to give us another chance on your next visit to Emporia. You will want to stay to stay with us for more than one night after experiencing our new culture and staff!

Sincerely,

Kap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was part of a group trip and we stayed at the Guesthouse Inn. we had reserved 31 rooms months ago. We phoned an hour before ariving and told the receptionist what time we would be arriving. We got there at 9:30 p.m. They were totally unprepared for us - no keys made! It took over an hour to process everyone. Almost all of our rooms were facing the inside dome. None of the rooms had working air conditioning. The staff had to reassign everyone to outside facing rooms with air conditioning that worked. This took another hour. I got to my second room and the air didn't work in that one either. Changed rooms again. This time air conditioning worked. The clock radio didn't work so had to count on a wake-up call. Some of the rooms had large grasshoppers in them! For breakfast, the hotel knew we had 94 people, prepared for around 20 and opend 20 minutes late.

On the positive side, the desk staff tried their best to accomodate us even though they were not prepared by management to handle our group.

There is no way I would ever stay in this motel again. It was very poorly managed.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Knights Inn Emporia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
William M,

I appreciate the feedback that you have provided and thank you for taking the time to review our property. I want you to know that we are under new management and this instance would not occur under our current regime. I apologize for the lack of organization, the AC issues, and the breakfast not being ready. I can assure that these issues would not happen again if you were to give us another shot. I apologize once again and please give us another try on your next visit to Emporia.

Sincerely,

Kap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Emporia
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Emporia
Comfort Inn Emporia
#4 of 15 in Emporia
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Emporia
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Emporia

Property: Knights Inn Emporia
Address: 2700 W 18th Ave, Emporia, KS 66801-6157 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Conference Center Emporia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management! The Guesthouse Inn and Conference center in Emporia, KS is a charming 129 room hotel with an indoor/outdoor pool, on site restaurant and bar, free wifi and breakfast, fitness center, business center, hot tub, and beautiful banquet space! We have a Ballroom as well as a Dome that is used for Weddings, Receptions,etc. We are a pet friendly hotel located just off KS 35. Close to fine dining and shopping! A perfect place to stay or host an event; come check us out! Please contact us for information at our number for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Knights Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Emporia
Travel Lodge Emporia
Emporia Travel Lodge
Emporia Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing