We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Skipped continental breakfast first day, didn't even try second. Training from food handlers permit warned us away. Room was mediocre with some mold showing in bath corners. Room service was not complete but adequate. Pool was good. Needs upgrade, but would serve as one night crash pad for price. Cheaper/better on other side of town, but no pool. You choose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybernuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksenanayake, General Manager at Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Cybernuke,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out your review. I apologize for the issues you had with breakfast, the pool, and room service. I would like you to know that we are under new management and I can assure you these issues have been corrected. We do have new staff in place, and want to educate future guests that we do not have room service anymore. I apologize once again for the issues you encountered and would like the opportunity to be able to impress you on your next visit to Emporia.

Sincerely,

Kap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I were in Emporia for a family reunion . We had three rooms reserved . Wish we had read the reviews/ comments before making the reservations . The rooms were old , smelly and dirty . The beds , hard and lumpy and the pillows were jokes , thin as pancakes . Carpet was nasty and ancient. You did not want to be bare foot and walking on that carpet . Tiny bathroom with a old and cracked toilet seat . Leaking drainage pipes around the pool area , with puddles of slimy water . Card keys wouldn't work ( for two of the three rooms) . We stayed for two nights , our room didn't get made up on the second day , not even a trash can in the room . Cracked walls , peeling paint . Birds had built nests in the alarm bells on the outside walls. The night manager , a female , said she needed to find a new job because the place was a pit . I read on this site, that
the hotel was under new management and renovations were being made , but the dates on those comments were two years ago. They must have decided against the renovations ? The best thing about this place , was leaving it. "Spangles " restaurant next door was a treat , good burgers and Ice Cream .

This is the first time that I have written a review on a hotel , it's the condition of the place that prompted me to do so.

Avoid at all costs . Sleeping in your car is a better option . I can't fully put into words how icky the Guest House inn truly was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have modest expectations when using lower-priced hotels, but this place was appalling. The place was almost empty when we arrived, and that should have been a warning. I'd made a reservation by phone the day before, but the desk clerk had no record of it, and I had not received the email confirmation that I'd requested. The room we were assigned was dirty. One of the room keys didn't work, the refrigerator didn't work, and the door wouldn't close properly. There was no drain in the tub. The outlet behind the refrigerator was dangerous-looking, and when we tried to move the refrigerator to a different outlet, we found some kind of crumbly looking stuff (roach bait? old cereal? both?) underneath it. The doors were stained, the tiles broken in the bathroom. Avoid avoid avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were coming back from texas. Due to bad weather, we stayed at Guesthouse inn. I believe, it is undergoing renovation and management change. We had hot breakfast in the morning. Clean rooms and I was able to finish my work for next day's meeting. V

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishwanatha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was an okay motel to stay. Room service was not that good but staff was really helpful and nice. Overall, it's a good place to stay for the price. We had some problem with the heating first but then it was fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minto_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights , had to put towels at door to keep cold air out, was told I would have room off atrium when I made reservations , when I arrived I was told they were all taken and if I didn't like it I could stay somewhere else. But it was the host motel for my group rally so I stayed I will never stay there again. Terrible. They didn't even make my bed the 2 day and I had to ask for extra towels only 1 washcloth and one towel was in the room for 2 people.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! We stayed with a large group booked a year in advance. Not only were they not properly prepared to accommodate our group - all of who PRE-registered - but we had people who didn't have electricity in their rooms and were told they had to wait until the maintenance person came in the next day! They didn't have electricity in their room until NOON that next day AND ALL THEY HAD TO DO WAS FLIP A BREAKER. Other people had rooms with no working heat, dangling smoke detectors, showers that weren't working properly and sinks that wouldn't drain, TV remotes that didn't work, you name it. Even the towels and washcloths were stained and dingy. No one took responsibility and to make matters worse, those of us that paid by credit card are being charged an EXTRA $25.00 over and above the agreed upon price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
3.7 mi away
Budget Host Inn Emporia
Budget Host Inn Emporia
#8 of 15 in Emporia
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 15 in Emporia
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#2 of 15 in Emporia
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center

Address: 2700 W 18th Ave, Emporia, KS 66801-6157 (Formerly Knights Inn Emporia)
Location: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range: $84 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management and renovation! The Avasté Hotel Suites & Conference Center in Emporia, KS is a contemporary 106 room hotel with an indoor/outdoor pool, free WiFi, hot Breakfast, fitness center, business center, Jacuzzi, and amazing event space! We have a Ballroom as well as a Atrium that is used for Conferences, Trade Shows, Weddings, Receptions, Children's Birthday Parties, etc. We are a pet friendly hotel located just off KS I-35. Close to fine dining and shopping! A perfect place to stay or host an event; come check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avaste Hotel Suites & Events Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Emporia
Travel Lodge Emporia
Emporia Travel Lodge
Emporia Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing