We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff, we'll be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bobby D's

Bobby D's
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Emporia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, KS
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good stuff, we'll be back.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We go to Emporia twice a year for musical events and try to eat at small local places. Glad we found this one! Even on a busy Saturday with kids eating before prom and sports teams eating after a day of games, we had wonderful, quick service and great food. We aren't really BBQ fans, but we found the sandwiches to be delicious and the sweet potato fries were the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    59
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butternut, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going to return”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We drive through Emporia, Kansas during our snowbird route and this is definitely going to be a treat to look forward to. Hub had the smoked chicken dinner and I had pulled pork and both were delicious. Think any of their entrees would be good. Curious about the meatloaf. They are closed on Sunday. Only negative point was the round about at exit 127 --peculiar fork. Am sure locals get use to it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WiGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped here on our way from Texas to Iowa. It was well worth the detour to downtown Emporia.

The sweet potato fries and the special dipping sauce were outstanding.
The smoked BBQ ribs and BBQ sauce were among the best I've ever had.
My wife said the smoked turkey bacon tomato cheese pepper jack on toasted hawaiian bread sandwich was delicious.
Cheesy potatoes were very good.
Good family restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scrumptious brisket, mouthwatering ribs, delicious pulled pork, sweet baked beans, flavorful cheesy potatoes, fast friendly serv”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were traveling from Oklahoma City toward the QCA, Iowa. We wanted a quick bite with some local flavor. Asked the toll attendant to give a suggest for lunch. She recommend this place with easy directions. We had delicious food with quick friendly service for a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jceurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The pulled pork sandwich and cheesy potatoes we great! The sweet potato fries were delicious. Great sauce. Everyone was really friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeganRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby D's also viewed

 

Been to Bobby D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing