We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay with great beds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Emporia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Inn Emporia
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay with great beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed at this Comfort Inn and, although the prior reviews made it sound bad, I was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness, cleanliness, and most of all, the comfortable beds. The front desk clerk was curteous at check in, the breakfast was well layed out, and when I checked out, the manager was curteous and wished me safe travels. The best part was that the beds are pillowtop with an additional padded mattress pad (I couldn't help but check becuase my bed at home is no where near as comfortable.)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeroweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    15
    16
    12
See reviews for
38
26
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

We travel back and forth to KC for leisure trips quite often and a couple of years ago, came upon this Comfort Inn, which at that time, was quite new. My husband had actually been in Emporia on business many times and watched the hotel being built, so after it was done, we decided to stay. At that time, we were impressed. Key point -- at that time. This hotel is not old enough to be as run down as it is! It had this overall stink that indicated an effort was being made to cover an even worse stink, but wasn't doing the job. The place was smelly, dingy, and a big disappointment, to the extent that we'll be looking for another place! Somebody has "let the place go," and it definitely shows! The help was cordial enough, but not enough to make up for the overall problem of the hotel, itself. Come on, people, kick it up a notch! It had it once, so don't let it stay in this state of neglect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TajnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Idaho
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We got stuck in Emporia, Kansas because the A/C went out in our Yukon and we had to take it to a shop to have it repaired. So, maybe I'm being too hard on this hotel because I was crabby anyway, but usually my crabbiness doesn't affect my sense of smell.
The room was kind of run down, which was odd because the hotel exterior looked fairly newish. The lobby was nice, but the rooms stunk like mildew and was extremely humid. Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

As a member of Choice privileges you are entitled to late checkout. When I requested this at this hotel the manager said this was not available at her hotel. After making calls to their customer relations department they said it was not true and said they would work to resolve my complaint. After following up several times they said they were not able to get the manager to respond.

If all this wasn’t enough they gave me the room right next to the breakfast area with what appeared to have zero sound proofing. I could hear what every person had to eat all morning.

All in all a poor experience and I would NEVER stay in this hotel again. In fact I have given up Choice hotels all together as they cannot even get a local manager to admit lying or even respond to a complaint.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The staff and manager
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

I thought the hotel was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was a nice size. The employees were very kind, brought me extra pillows. Most of all, it was very clean which is important. It is the nicest comfort inn I've stayed at.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank hotelnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
0.1 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Emporia
Super 8 Emporia
#1 of 15 in Emporia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Emporia

Property: Comfort Inn Emporia
Address: 2836 W 18th Ave, Emporia, KS 66801-6181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Emporia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the Walmart, as well as many restaurants including AppleBees, Montana Mike's Steakhouse, and just recently opened is IHOP right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing