We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, get there at the right time”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 85 Restaurants in Emporia
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food, get there at the right time”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This was a pretty typical Asian buffet. May a slightly better selection than some, but nothing really extraordinary. One thing to note is the meal prices. The sign at the door said 4.99 lunch and 5.99 dinner, I was there at 4 pm and ended up getting charged 12.99.

Helpful?
Thank TwoGroomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argonia, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Quiet and quick service. Your usual Chinese menu, but good portions and prompt service. Clean place. Not too busy because we went just past the usual lunch hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LesASTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Emporia”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

...and with 4-5 options in such a small town, that's saying something.

My husband and I a regulars. Our favorites: General Tso's chicken, the fried rice (still haven't found a place that beats it - even outside Emporia), the "diet delight" (not to be confused with double delight), and the crab rangoon.

In fact, we like the food here so much, that we had our wedding rehearsal dinner here several years ago!

Our order is often recognized when we call in for carryout. Service is always attentive and friendly, but the AC can be cranked pretty high at times, so if you get chilled easily, bring a light jacket.

I also really enjoy the egg drop soup, but my father swears that the hot and sour soup beats it hands-down.

Lunch specials are really fast and cheap during the week - this is an excellent chance to try new dishes because you get an appetizer, soup and your meal for (if I remember correctly) about $5. I wish I had a lunch break that allowed me to go out so I could take advantage!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katlover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had the family meal which included appetizers and soup as well as the entree. Staff were very friendly and received prompt service. Food was nice and fresh and hot, and had a great taste!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good food at a decent price - I prefer take out.”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Good food at a decent price - I prefer take out.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing