We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dodge House Hotel from a blind traveler's perspective”
Review of Dodge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dodge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Huntsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dodge House Hotel from a blind traveler's perspective”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

As blind travellers, my husband and I look for hotels which are easy to navigate, have friendly staff, and have all the conveniences. The Dodge House Hotel and Convention Center meets all the above requirements, and more. Facilities include a pool, laundry facilities (very reasonably priced at $1 for a wash and $1 for a dry), a full-service restaurant with room service, free shuttle service to the casino, airport and train station, and even an audio-enabled bank machine! The lay-out of the main level is very simple and easy to learn. My husband has a guide dog and we were able to find a good relieving spot for her. We found time to have a drink at the saloon as well, and they have a very unusual bar with horses' heads along the rail. The hotel staff--food service, housekeeping and reception--are friendly and always happy to help. One of the owners is often on-site and he is very friendly and outgoing. What can we say? We loved it so much we came back again for another few days within a week of leaving!

And finally, their bull nuts are very tasty!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaYale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review about the hotel. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The both of you were such a joy to sit and visit with! All of us here definitely can not wait to have you back and hope you have been enjoying all your recent travels. If you are even back in the area look us up, We will have a nice plate of Calf Fries waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    34
    31
    35
See reviews for
58
56
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
salida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for the first time at the Dodge House. My wife had some business meetings that she had to attend in Dodge and it was also her birthday, so we made a long weekend. The hotel manager was very accomodating and had flowers for her in our room when we arrived with a nice birthday card. The room was nice as was the hotel. We have stayed at other motels in Dodge but will return to this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksalida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have you and your wife over her Birthday weekend. All of us here at The Dodge House would like to thank you for your kind review and look forward to seeing you again! Please look us up next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It's an older full service hotel, well decorated with western history and a full history of the TV series "Gunsmoke". Large rooms, reasonably priced, nice breakfast and a drink and appetizer special for hotel guests. I'd definitely stay again and would recommend. It is older than the new big box motels but a lot of nice character.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
What a pleasure it was to read your kind review. All of us here at The Dodge House would like to thank you for your honest feed back! Please look us up next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed at this scenic buckaroo hotel three separate times and stayed in a different room each time. We have been pleased with our stays and can find nothing to complain about. Clean rooms, thick bath towels, comfy beds, good water pressure, internet and TVS work great with enough channels to please everyone, air/heat works fine and the indoor pool area is perfect for families, with a large indoor pool and slide and video games. There are western photo opts everywhere and I mean everywhere!!. We had a drink in the bar and had dinner in the restaurant each stay .. Very good drinks and delicious meals. This is our perfect stomping grounds when we pass through Dodge.
Happy trails!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a pleasant review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy your stay with us each time!. We strive our self on having clean rooms with a warm family atmosphere. Every day we seem to be adding more and more to the hotel, so we hope on your next visit there will be even more. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is the best value in Dodge City. Free breakfast is very good! Pool was closed but we did not need the pool for this trip. The free shuttle to the casino was a great value. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgirl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am glad yo enjoyed your stay at the Dodge House. Even though you were not utilizing the pool, I do apologize that it was down for cleaning. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had expected a much smaller and more funky place. The Dodge House is a big place with a large recreational/pool/volley ball/table tennis etc. area. It has a big saloon with an historic 200 year old back bar imported from England. It has a very large dining room. Where ever you go, it is still there.... The rooms have obviously been remodeled and modernized. Our room seemed very similar to what we find in a Holiday or Hampton Inn, and the en-suite bathroom is modern. The rooms have free wireless Internet access. The place wasn't as homey as I expected, and somehow it seemed to be just too big for the number of people around, but perhaps that was just a quirk of the time we were there. The service was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review. It makes me so pleased that you are still so excited about your stay. I'm glad that your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the western atmosphere and all that the dome area had to offer. Mr. Charlie Mead is definitely one of our brightest stars as well and we are so lucky to have him around! Thank you for staying with us and we can't wait to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Dodge House is the last in a string of motels out Wyatt Earp Boulevard West. It claims to be the successor of the original Dodge House, which was right downtown where the action was in the 1870s, and I can easily believe that some of the hallway carpet hasn't been cleaned since the 19th century, but otherwise it doesn't have any special connection that I can see. I found staying there a depressing experience. The furnishings are dark, the lighting is dim, the front desk is badly staffed, the food in the restaurant was so-so at best (and the service was slipshod). Many of the rooms are located around a huge indoor courtyard with swimming pool and volleyball court, which might have been lively if it hadn't been almost deserted. The main action in this "resort" was a large group of men, fish and game wardens or something like that, who sat in a corner of the indoor courtyard all evening drinking beer and talking loudly. My actual guest room was fine, big comfortable bed and clean bathroom, but the place isn't one I would want to return to.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dodge City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Dodge City
Motel 6 Dodge City
#16 of 19 in Dodge City
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodge House Hotel

Property: Dodge House Hotel
Address: 2408 W Wyatt Earp Blvd, Dodge City, KS 67801-3003
Location: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dodge House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dodge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodge City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing