We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary breakfast - with proper tea!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dodge City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Dodge City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Boot Hill B&B thoroughly deserves the high praise that previous Tripadvisor reviewers have given it.
It is situated just opposite the Boot Hill museum - actually on Boot Hill - and from our room it was even possible to see into the museum complex, just over the road.
Kurt and Enid were amazingly helpful, even going so far as for Kurt to pick us up and return us to the station for our 5.20am Amtrak train.
Enid's breakfasts are legendary and rightly so. The house motto is "no-one leaves this house hungry" and it's true. What made the breakfasts even better for us Brits was that the tea served was proper Tetley's tea in a teapot - none of that horrible wishy-washy Lipton's stuff!

If you're going to Dodge City, treat yourself to some proper hospitality and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on an overnight trip from Topeka while he is in Kansas for work. We went on July 4th and we were upgraded to the Matt Dillon room. The proprietor was very welcoming and the house is set up very nicely. The Matt Dillon room has a jacuzzi tub and en suite bathroom plus has access to the deck outside. We could literally look out onto the Boot Hill museum, which was what we came for. It was very convenient to park the car and walk to the museum and to eat dinner. We came back to the room after enjoying the show at Boot Hill and sat on the deck, where we could see the fireworks from the stadium perfectly (with no crowds!). Plus, my husband was able to raid the fridge for soda and the jar for cookies. In the morning, breakfast was served in a nice little sunroom and the former Marshall of Dodge City came by for a visit (in his hat, boots, and spurs). We aren't really morning people, so it was nice to have a table to ourselves and not be forced into awkward bed and breakfast conversation that some places have, plus no one gave us the stank eye when we came down in our jammies. The Marshall was very nice and gave us some good information about Dodge City. The breakfast was great. I have multiple food allergies, but they were able to accommodate me with a big bowl of oatmeal with brown sugar and a nice big bowl of fruit. My husband said that the breakfast was great, especially the pastries (and he really isn't that much into breakfast). Enid was ready with the coffee, so if you are a coffee drinker, this is good for you. For us, she was ready with the water and made sure our glasses were full. FYI - some of the rooms do not have an en suite bathroom. But, the Boot Hill B&B was the perfect location for the right price (on par or less than some of the "trucker" motels in town) and accommodated our needs. We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have en suite bathroom. Rooms with deck access overlook Boot Hill museum. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondebetty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We love staying in B&Bs. Enid and Kirk's home is beautiful, warm and comfortable. If you a passing through this area, their home is a DEFINITE place to check into. The king size bed was very comfortable and provided in the room was a small stocked refrigerator and homemade cookies. The breakfast room is beautiful. Our breakfast was complete with warm pastries. It was a perfect respite from our day of travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredOne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We live in Dodge City and had never stayed at the B&B. The room was fantastic, we had the Wild West Suite and the Jacuzzi tub was great. The room was quiet, and large. Kurt and Enid go out of their way to make you feel at home. Coffee, tea, water and other refreshments are available in the room. BTW I ate the whole jar of home made mini-cookies that were in the room (I think my wife had one or two). Breakfast in the morning was VERY good. The warm pastries are a meal in themselves. Kurt and Enid obviously love people as they are very easy to talk to, and I just love Enid's English accent. Thanks Kurt and Enid my wife and I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my husband sent 2 nights at this beautiful, charming bed & breakfast. The room was fabulous and we even had a Jacuzzi in our room. I have back problems, so it was a blessing to have the Jacuzzi. The whole home and our room was very clean and neatly done.. The owners were very friendly, eager to please, and made you feel right at home. They were great hosts! The breakfasts were amazing! The food was fantastic and cooked to order. She even had freshly made pastries that were out of this world! It was a full course breakfast. There was a historian also that came during breakfast and filled us in on the history of Dodge City. It was very interesting to know how the city came about and what it is now. He is a retired U.S. Marshall od Dodge City. He was very informative and we were invited to ask any questions. It was a great experience and we would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at this fantastic Bed & Breakfast. we would definitely stay with them again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were charming and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was very enjoyable.Wonderful atmosphere and very charming hostess,could not have been more accommodating.We would highly recommend this wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a business/vacation trip. Our beds were comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were amazing (no lunch required) and our hosts were friendly, efficient, and really worked with our changing schedule. We originally thought we would be staying longer, but had a chance to go home early and they gave us a refund for our final night very quickly and with a smile! They also worked with us, not charging us for our daughter, who also stayed in our room. I really loved the Miss Kitty room, it's a beautiful green color with quilts on the beds, a ceiling fan, and a door leading to the rooftop deck. Even though it was over 100 degrees outside the first day we were there, our room was very cool and comfortable. Charlie (a U.S. Marshall and historian) visiting in the morning, and Enid and Kurt's recommendations, guided us to see all the sights, and many were within walking distance, including the Boot Hill museum. All in all, you can't go wrong choosing to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
1.9 mi away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stay Suites of America - Dodge City
1.4 mi away
Dodge House Hotel
Dodge House Hotel
#12 of 19 in Dodge City
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 603 W Spruce St, Dodge City, KS 67801-4241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dodge City
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night or three in a grand old house at the top of Boot Hill, featuring the "Best Breakfast in the West." Relive the old west at Boothill Museum (across the street), walk the Trail of Fame in Downtown Dodge, see a show at the Depot Theater Co. Dinner Theater located in the Historic Sante Fe Depot, or visit historic buildings like the Mueller-Schmidt House (the House of Stone), and the Carnegie Center for the Arts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing