We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't see the trail at all”

Santa Fe Trail Tracks
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Dodge City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listed on the National Register of Historic Sites, these wagon wheel rut formations dating from the nineteenth century can be clearly seen today.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Couldn't see the trail at all”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We walked to the top of the hill where the tracks were supposed to be but we couldn't see them. It is a great view of the Arkansas River valley from the spot, though. The wind in Kansas is really incredible!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank beber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
475 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Driving thru history is gr8”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We started to cris-cross the Santa Fe Trail on Hwy 56 south of McPherson, KS en route to Dodge City, KS. I later learned that just N of the Hwy 50 & 56 junction, there is an excellent section of the trail maintained by members of the SF Trail association that has excellent markers and a map, but that will be some other trip for me.

The fields were full of wheat waiting to be harvested and the brisk breeze moved them in what appeared to be waves across the fields. This was the inspiration for the lyrics in America the Beautiful, "amber waves of grain". What an inspiring sight.

We returned to Hwy 50 and followed the Arkansas River to Dodge City, reading markers and trying to imagine what it would be like in a wagon over 150 years ago.

In Dodge City we read some of the history of Boot Hill, the famous Cache Co. Trading site, the wagon tracks and wild west heroes like Wyatt Earp, Doc Holiday. It would be a fun stop for grand kids (or kids of any age). I wish we'd had more time to explore the town, but I'm glad we took that route and stopped to re-live history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
557 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Hard to spot!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Over a hundred years have passed and the wagon ruts are getting hard to see. Still, if you like history it is worth checking out. You can read about the tracks and get a great panoramic view of the area. We were there at sunrise and witnessed a beautiful setting on the Kansas horizon!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What tracks?”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

You really had to use your imagination on this one folks. You couldn't tell there is a trail there at all. Not worth the walk up the hill, but the infomation was good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The real thing!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's neat to know these are still around and that we are that close to our history.

Helpful?
2 Thank NewretireeKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Trail Tracks also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe Trail Tracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing