We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant end to the day”
Review of Gunsmoke RV Park

Gunsmoke RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dodge City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunsmoke RV Park
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant end to the day”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I were traveling through Dodge City just before 9PM on a Wednesday night in our RV with our 2 cocker spaniels. It was our intention to keep going but beings it was late we checked TA for camping choices. We found 2 choices for campgrounds. We chose the Gunsmoke Trav-L-Park based on reviews and we are so happy we did. The office was closing at 9PM however the manager said she'd stay open and wait for us. We arrived about 9:15PM. Check-in was a breeze. What a nice couple running this campground. They gave us a pull through spot right up front by the bathrooms - a quick in, quick out. The bathrooms were extremely clean (very important to my wife). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hj1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you so much for this review

Hope to see you again, Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
35
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice location if visiting Dodge City. The campgrounds are very clean and shower house was great! Staff was very helpful when asking for things to do. We had plenty of room at our RV site. We will stay here next time through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you so much for this review

Hope to see you again, Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I have a small, home-made camping trailer and generally camp in state or national parks rather than private RV campgrounds. We stayed at the Gunsmoke Trav-L-Park because it suited our travel schedule and because we needed the conveniences of showers and laundry. We were very pleased. Both the bathrooms and the laundry were spotlessly clean. The bright color scheme was cheerful and inviting. The grounds were also clean and well maintained. We normally wouldn't enjoy being so close to the road that we could hear it, as we did here, or paying the higher amounts that private campgrounds tend to charge. But for what we needed at the time this place was perfect and I felt like I got my money's worth in a very pleasant way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you so much for this review

Hope to see you again, Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Considering Dodge City, Ks is out in the middle of nowhere, this rv park was good. Pull thrus were wide. Yes, I would stay there again if I am ever in Dodge City again. Speaking of the town, it is well worth the time and effort to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blondie1949x61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you for this review

It is most appreciated, Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were rolling through town, decided to stay for the night, wife called the two RV parks our GPS pulled up. This one was more expensive by about $10, so we went to the other one first. Yikes! Okay, what's another $10? As it turns out, we were very pleased with this place, and ended up spending two nights there. Very clean, great pool, outgoing owners/operators. Definitely one of the better experiences we have had in a while. Was a nice surprise find!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kickbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you so much for this review

Hope to see you again soon, Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The tent site at Gunsmoke Trav-L-Park needed some TLC. I'm not sure when anyone last stayed in a tent there. The picnic table was rickety and the weeds needed a mow. However it is secluded in a little depression so you don't feel like you are surrounded by RVs.

The pool was great to cool off in and the bathroom facilities were clean.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank alittlecameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you for your review

Hope you will find things more to your liking, if you ever get back to the States

Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

While riding motorcycles across Kansas and Colorado, my group came to a campground called the Gunsmoke Travel Park on the west edge of Dodge City. The staff was quite helpful in directing us to Boot Hill and other city attractions. We tent camped there that night, and enjoyed free firewood in our campfire. The swimming pool was large and heated. The shower facility was spacious and very clean. We enjoyed free coffee the following morning. Although some riders may not like the gravel lanes, the gravel was not loose and easy to ride on. I noted numerous spaces for RV's as well. Bathroom facilities also good. They even watered the grass in the camping area, increasing comfort for tent camping, and cutting out the dust. Reservations can be made at [--].

Helpful?
9 Thank RoadkingOlney_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Gunsmoke, Owner at Gunsmoke RV Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thanks so much for your review

You are most welcomed back anytime

Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dodge City
TownePlace Suites Dodge City
#6 of 19 in Dodge City
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunsmoke RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunsmoke RV Park

Property: Gunsmoke RV Park
Address: 11070 108 Rd, Dodge City, KS 67801-6529 (Formerly Gunsmoke Trav-L-Park)
Location: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dodge City
Number of rooms: 89

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing