We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was great but food was just ok”
Review of Casa Alvarez

Casa Alvarez
Ranked #18 of 70 Restaurants in Dodge City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service was great but food was just ok”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rancheras enchiladas were good but the iced tea tasted like it was two days old and the guacamole was way to creamy...almost tasted like they overkilled it with sour cream.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HotelGirl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dodge City, Kansas
1 review
“Incredible. Authentic.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Just moved to Dodge. Casa Alvarez is by far the most authentic and quality mexican food in Dodge. Ask for their special 'hot' salsa - yum! Enchilada sauce is obviously NOT directly from a can, tortillas are homemade, and meat is always mixed with peppers and otherwise nicely seasoned. Everything seems FRESH. Even the rice and beans are special! They also offer you a salad when you order an entree. LOVE CASA ALVAREZ. Been there several times, and intend on returning many more.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A perennial favorite”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Their food is consistently good and service is quick. Portions are generous.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NewretireeKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Good and fast”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We ordered a dinner and tacos to go. Both the tacos and enchilatas were good and tasty. Service was pleasant and fast.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casa Alvarez No!”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I had dinner at Casa Alvarez last night and, for the first time, found I had been misled by Trip Advisors' reviews. I had carnitas, or at least the menu said it was carnitas. It was not carnitas. Carnitas is composed of chunks of pork in a tomato based sauce, similar to a stew, and is delicious. Their "carnitas" was a slab of grilled, unadorned pork...no sauce, no seasoning except for WAY too much salt. The rice & refried beans that came with it were just typical of any Mexican restaurant, nothing above ordinary. But the guacamole deserves to be singled out; it was so salty I could barely keep it in my mouth! Even the iced tea was bad...had an odd smell and taste. And I paid $11.50 for that!?!? I had to race across the street for a Dairy Queen cone to get rid of the salt!

Helpful?
Thank ciaotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Alvarez also viewed

 

Been to Casa Alvarez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing