We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a whistle stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Station Bar & Grill

Central Station Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Dodge City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual dining with three separate venues. One area has a classic casual dining area, another section offers an open concept sports bar feel with a thirty foot full service bar and TV's. The third area offers a unique dining car that you can sit and enjoy a pleasant meal in tables available for four or two.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“worth a whistle stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went here last week with family and friends. Mostly family. This place has pretty mediocre food, mediocre service. But, the atmosphere and charm is worth a stop. I had the chicken friend steak which was huge. Most all the servings are. The price is very very reasonable. Nice place to take family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank showmestate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    62
    41
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Dodge City on my husband's birthday with Greensburg being our ultimate destination and I knew there was not a lot of choice there and had previously checked out Trip Advisor reviews them couldn't remember what they said! So decided to take a chance on this place and we really enjoyed our meal. The salads were good and both the fillet and T bone steaks cooked to our liking. The meals were nicely presented by friendly wait staff and were excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Usually pretty darn good....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I go to a steak house to eat a steak. If you do this, you won't be disappointed-usually. I've had rib eyes and filet mignon that were tasty, tender and a good value. Like most steak places, if you want rare, tell your wait staffer several times and tell them you will send it back for being overdone. I've had to do this. Beware of the other menu items-this is a steak house, so their Mexican dishes lack authenticity, sandwiches kinda skimpy, and so on. A 12 oz. Rib Eye was $26 my last visit-not a good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Bar Food in Clever Rail Station Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wondered why some reviewers had issues with the food quality here. Our food was very good and the service was very friendly. The venue is part of the old Dodge City Santa Fe railway station that has been converted to a restaurant and bar. If you like railroad stuff, ask to be seated in the real, converted dining rail car,that is attached to the restaurant. It's great. They also converted a real freight box car into the restrooms. The BBQ pork ribs were some of the best I have ever eaten. My wife had the filet mignon and said it was excellent. Our salads were crisp and tasty (not limp as some other reviewer experienced). And the prices (by large city standards) are very reasonable. Same with the draught beers. Good food and a pleasant atmosphere make this a place we would return to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved their food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had the BBQ pork ribs and they were amazing! Husband had central station rib eye and hd said it was delicious! Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Station Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Central Station Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing