We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to their billing”

Central Station Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Dodge City
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual dining with three separate venues. One area has a classic casual dining area, another section offers an open concept sports bar feel with a thirty foot full service bar and TV's. The third area offers a unique dining car that you can sit and enjoy a pleasant meal in tables available for four or two.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to their billing”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ordered prime rib medium rare and received well done. When we complained they told us that was the last two they had. I can understand that but don't serve something completely different from what was ordered. Just tell us you are out.

They then ask if we would like to have rib eyes. We agreed and ordered them the same way. Eventually they came out and looked terrible. The grill was way too cold so only made the steaks tough and grey. Not only were they cooked poorly but they were possibly the worst rib eyes we had ever had. Over 1/3 of the steak was inedible gristle. Hard to believe a restaurant that bills itself as "The best steaks in town" would even think about serving this dog food. And they just didn't care what our opinion of the food was.

On the plus side... The spinach artichoke dip was very good and the jalapeno margarita was good as well.

Overall, avoid this restaurant, a lot of money for pretty poor food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    43
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The menu was great, the food was fresh and original. Wait staff were knowlegeable and helpful. Restrooms were clean and well maintained. Beautiful resaurant decor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food/fun setting”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ate at the Central Station when we stayed overnight in Dodge City while on a trip. The restaurant is in the old train station and some of the dining areas are in train cars. We ate in the old dining car area which was fun. Besides the dining areas there is a bar area with tvs and an area for pool. Our food was very good as was the service. The menu featured a good selection of steaks, Mexican food and sandwiches. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soybeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All right”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The inside is really neat. The food was good, the hot sauce great. I had the Tacos, they were tacos. The fajitas tasted good, very marinated. Some one thought it was a good idea to run one waitress over 14 tables, so the service was poor. Price good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting building, great food, good value!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Driving through Dodge City, we hit this local spot in the old train station. We hoped to see the ghosts of Wyatt Earp or Doc Holliday, but were just happy to think we may have walked in their footsteps. They have a bar, family sitting area or an old train car with booths... You can choose your seating preference. We sat in the dining area with its exposed brick... Very quaint. My fiancée had the bacon/cheddar chicken sandwich. He loved it... The chicken was juicy and the bacon smokey. The onion rings were excellent! I had the steak salad. Very flavorful and fresh! The service was attentive, but they weren't overly bubbly. The only detractor was that this end of the building was freezing cold. The quaint atmosphere was chilly in the winter. Overall the food was great casual fare, and the price was very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Station Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Central Station Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing