We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful Hotel.”
Review of Hampton Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Derby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and peaceful stay in Wichita. Staff is friendly and helpful. Internet, breakfast, pool and meeting room were used. An easy place to rest and be with friends in a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Clean, quiet and restful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

very pleasent staff, great room, very good breakfast. Over all great stay. The Hotel is in a very good location, not around any noise, like freeway or industry. Everything worked, all the appliance and convenient items. I have hot water imediately for shower.

Room Tip: how do you improve something already excelent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Service and staff were excellent and attentive. Room was clean and well maintained. Access to internet and cell service was good. Location useful, close to the local Air Force Base, I35, and local chain eateries. Agree with previous reviewer concerning slamming doors, but suspect this is to ensure the bolt catches, problem is as much with inconsiderate other guests as with equipment. Get a room without a floodlight outside the window, they are really bright. There should also be a plan in place (contract) to have the parking area plowed by 0600. It snowed twice while I was there, and they were late to plow (0800) each time.

Room Tip: Rooms with floodlight outside the window are REALLY bright inside, even with curtains drawn!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice, new and clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The manager found out it was a special occasion and upgraded us. Had a comfortable and memorable stay. The hotel is just outside Wichita but close to restaurants and shopping. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff was very understanding and helpful. They allowed our family to use the lobby/breakfast area in the evening for a family dinner. Our family group ranged in age from elders to toddlers with teenagers in between, and the staff was prepared to handle all our needs. The friendly, “were here for you” attitude was consistent throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Tell the desk clerk what is important to you, ie. a room with a view, quiet, close to other members...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel except for the slamming room doors. This is an easy mechanical fix and would go a long way in keeping things quiet when you're trying to sleep. This is a new property with everything you'd expect from a nice Hampton. Lots of good restaurants 10 minutes away to the east as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltonHonorsLifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a conference room to use for a Thanksgiving Day meal and were quoted a price by Matt (apparently the G.M. of the property). The week before Thanksgiving we confirmed that we had the room and were told by front desk staff to pay when we got there on Thanksgiving. When we showed up Thanksgiving Day, the price had increased by $50 with no explanation why. What else could we do but pay for the increase as we had 18 family members wanting to enjoy Thanksgiving Day. We left a message for Matt to call us for an explanation, but didn't hear back from him until after we went to the BBB with a complaint. Matt called on December 29th and apologized for the "mis-communication" and offering us a $20 gift card to Target to make up for the fee that was "overcharged." After telling him that we were overcharged $50, not $20, Matt said he'd have to get owner approval for any additional amount and would call us back on Monday Dec 31st at 2:00pm. You guess it! We didn't hear back from Matt. Have left 2 messages for him to call back and have had no response from him.
It's pretty sad that this hotel management takes advantage of people on a holiday. Avoid this hotel, there are plenty of other hotels to use in the area. The same owners of the Hampton are building a Holiday Inn Express right across the street to the Hampton, that susposedly this Matt is going to run also. I can only imagine how that place will treat its customers as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites I-35 / Mulvane
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 2 in Haysville
93 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wichita-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wichita South
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#58 of 87 in Wichita
160 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Derby

Address: 1701 E Cambridge St, Derby, KS 67037-3782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Derby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: $122 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Derby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing