We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Hays House

Hays House
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Liked the hamburger I was served a lot. Nice staff; had been told that it was good and had eaten there before. However, another friend had indicated that the food had gone down hill. This was not the case. Very pleasing experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kansas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Update”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was here again in June, 2013 with a group of nine. We were all pleased with our meals. I had the ham steak dinner with broccoli. The ham was sugar cured, pleasantly sweet and not too salty - wish I could get some as good at home! The big surprise was the very generous serving of well done (as in not overcooked), broccoli. Generous servings. Most of us shared a dessert and were glad we did. I'd say the new owners are doing a fine job and am looking forward to being there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Very good BLT sandwich in such a neat history place!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great experience! Ate lunch here after a drive though the Flint Hills. Hubby and I both got the BLT sandwich which was very good. Lots on nice crisp, but not over cooked bacon strips and three very large tomato slices. "Real homemade old fashion Gooseberry Pie" YUM. Clean place, nice wait staff. Would eat here again if we come back to Council Grove.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“coffee time”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had stop for a cake, it was so good...so taste..I would like to go back to eat that cheese cake...the best white cheese cake ever..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maybelline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good old hospitality”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Me and my wife had dinner upstairs middle of the week. We came in late but were invited in and food prepared from scratch for us. Excellent fried chicken and salmon. Thanked the chef personally. Very friendly manager and waitress who showed us around the historical buidling.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hein_Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hays House also viewed

 
Strong City, KS
 
Council Grove, KS
 

Been to Hays House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing