We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, old and dingy”
Review of Super 8 Colby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Colby
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Colby
San Juan la Laguna, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Basic, old and dingy”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived the lights were off in the lobby. Took a while for the clerk to greet us and check us in. The rooms show their age...broken pieces on the air conditioning controls things like that. Liquor store next door and good steakhouse across the street.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayshri, Manager at Super 8 Colby, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our front office staff. - Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    100
    72
    29
    26
See reviews for
128
79
51
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My stay at this hotel was average, employees spoke broken english and didn't seem to understand the computer system. Desk clerk offered me an upgraded room and then said he was mistaken it wasn't available. Wi-Fi worked well, breakfast offering was sparse and no room to sit down, I went back to my room. Biggest issue with tis stay was the hotel supplie incorrect infor mation to Whyndham rewards that the stay did not earn points. I booked on-line without using any special program. Supposedly the hotel admitted to the mistake, but have been waiting for the issue to be resolved for over 2 weeks. Also the spa was out 0f service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Colby, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our front office staff and steps have been taken to rectify the issue. - Thanks again for your feedback and kind words about my staff. - Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Booked a room that had a 15% discount for the days that we were going. Plugged in 2 adults and 2 children (13-17) and got a rate for a 2 Queen beds room for 67.99 + tax. When we got there the man at the counter told me the rate was wrong ...that the 17 yr old is considered an adult and changed my rate to 72.24 + tax...i argued the point ...no where is a 17 yr old considered an adult...especially on your own company website. He told me "they are changing it". I called when i got home and filed a complaint and was told that he should not have changed my rate and filed a official complaint with the property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colby hotels

Craig, Co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our trip through Kansas. This hotel was very clean, very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The price was very reasonable - we got a AAA rate - and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Colby, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest, I am glad to know that we met your expectations during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel; please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Only complaint was that the blankets were rough to the touch and the sheet had a hole in it... Other than that we had an overall nice nights sleep. (Slight cigarette smell but the air conditioner worked great so it wasn't that bad once the air got moving around.)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA11711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Colby, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear guest, I thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff met your expectations, On the other hand, the housekeeping department will be made aware of the blanket problem.. Thanks again for your comments and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My codriver and I stayed at this hotel because they had truck parking. We were both attacked by bed bugs during the night and had the bite marks to prove it. Do not stay here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mpgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Super 8 after leaving the budget inn hotel and suites as that hotel should have been condemned. It was almost midnight by the time we arrived and the girl at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, well kept, the bed was comfortable and the continental breakfast was average. There was nothing special about the hotel but certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreynolds1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colby hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#6 of 10 in Colby
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
American Inn Colby
American Inn Colby
#9 of 10 in Colby
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Colby

Property: Super 8 Colby
Address: 1040 Zelfer Ave, Colby, KS 67701-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Colby 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Colby hotel near Prairie Museum of Art and History is conveniently located off I-70. Experience the rich history and small-town charm of Colby and several local attractions with ease from our hotel. Start your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast and connect to free WiFi. We offer 24-hour reception desk service and parking is provided for your car, truck, bus, or RV. When you return to our pet-friendly hotel, work out in our fitness center or take advantage of conveniences like guest laundry facilities. Non-smoking and accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Colby
Colby Super Eight
Colby Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing