We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This Budget Inn is run by a husband and wife, who go above and beyond to accommodate the needs of their customers. My cell did not have service in Colby and the Innkeeper allowed me to use his personal phone. The room was large and spacious. Very clean. The bathroom was a throwback to the 60s and very clean. There were modern appliances in the room, including fridge and TV. The rate was very low. I am an early riser, so I drove one minute to get a large cup of coffee. The motel was easy to find, on highway 24, off of I-70. It was quiet and restful. The bed was comfortable. I slept well, which is not always easy on the road. Definitely stop here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Nina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your comments and review are appreciated.
We really do mean it when we say that we treat our guests as family coming home.

It is our pleasure to provide great down home country comfort and welcome guests back as long lost family.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    84
    32
    15
    40
See reviews for
93
75
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked our room here because of the price, and were absolutely delighted by the quality. Despite a rather sad motel exterior, the room was a budget traveler's gem: spotlessly clean, very comfortable king bed, working microwave and small refrigerator, comfy sofa from which to watch the flat screen TV or access the free WiFi, and very clean bathroom. There are also picnic tables and grills available for use. The free breakfast included coffee, juice, cereal, and make-your-own waffles, though the setup is in the small lobby and one has to go to the picnic tables or back to one's room to eat. The owner/managers are delightful and are clearly putting their hearts into making a go of this little place. We were driving on Rt. 24 and so came upon it as we entered Colby, but if you are driving on I-70, it is the furthest motel from the highway, though in such a small place, that's not saying much. It's well worth driving the extra five minutes.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your review and comments are very much appreciated and you are absolutely correct about us being away from the Hotels right at the I 70 exit.
Our Jewel (as described by a fellow guest ) has provided coutless travellers comfort and pleasure since we have been here and continue to renovate.
The Budget Inn known as "Chiefs Motel" was the happening place in Colby before I 70 came along and we intend to bring it back to its "old" glory.

Our sincere thanks and appreciation and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I reserved a room with this hotel based on price alone. It was by far the cheapest hotel in the area. THEN, I looked up reviews on the hotel. I was very concerned at this point as I was traveling with my grandson and was worried about the condition of the hotel rooms. When I pulled up, I was surprised at how clean the hotel property was. There was even a nice fenced courtyard in the middle of the parking lot that had picnic tables and grills for guests to use. The staff was very nice and check in was a breeze. I went to my room to find my biggest surprise. The room was very nice, clean, and obviously had all new furniture in it. The bed was very comfortable, there was a nice desk, dresser, a large flat screen TV on the wall, and a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was also very clean. It was nothing like the pictures I viewed online. What I loved most was the remote to control the air conditioner. I loved not having to get up during the night to turn it down! I would definitely stay here again. It was the best value for my buck I have had in a long time. If you need a nice, quiet, clean, and comfortable place to stay, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your wonderful comments are so heart warming and our sincere thanks for taking the time write such a meticulous review.

We still have a ways to go but it is reviews and comments like your that make us feel that we are doing the right thing and will eventually achieve our goal of 100% guest satisfaction.

We hope that other guest read your review and appreciate us for our sincere efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip from Colorado to Oklahoma. This hotel is not fancy, but was more than adequate for our overnight stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was adequate for a one night stay, especially given the price. I would recommend this hotel if you need a decent place to stay for one night while passing through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our sincere appreciation for taking time to post your review.

We do get many compliments and our beds and mattresses are almost always commented on.
We have regulars that come and stay a night just to enjoy our bed comfort and down home country hospitality.

We look forward to your visit next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopped between South dakota and Colorado Springs. Booked on line, and the owner wouldn't accept my paid confirmation price amd I had to pay more at the front desk. I even showed him my confirmed price and he just said if you don't like it go some place else. but wouldn't refund my original payment.

room wa dirty and needed to be updated

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It is very unfortunate that this Canadian guest does not understand that in America we have TAX.
The guest insisted that he had made a reservation for a certain price and expected to pay just that.
The reservation confirmation clearly stated that that the price did not include local taxes and those will be calculated upon arrival.

The owner, who happened to be on property attempted to explain the above to the guest but all his efforts were in vain and he finally offered to cancel the reservation and let the guest find alternate accomodation.
The guest was aware that he would not find alternate accomodation matching or better than price and value he was paying and decided to stay and post this unfavorable review.
After being in the hospitality Industry for almost 40 years, we realize that our goal of 100% guest satisfaction might be unrealistic, consideration such unreasonable "family" coming to visit.
Neverthless we shall continue to forge ahead and strive to keep our motto a realistic dream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here in June on our way from Colorado to Kansas City, MO. We were put in a smoking room that hadn't been refurbished in decades. It also appeared to have not been cleaned in decades. There was a spider and a leaf under the top/flat sheet on the bed. The bathroom was filthy, and the whole room seemed dirty. We were just looking for a clean place to catch a few hours of sleep on our way through. We ended up having to lay on top of our own blankets to get any sleep. The smell in the room was horrible. On a positive note, the front desk clerk was very polite!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InOurHappyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We wish to express our sincere apology to the guest and thank the guest for at least making a favorable comment about our staff.

The Motel was under renovation and yes we did have work to do on our smoking rooms.

We would like to guest to considering staying with us in the future and we have no doubt that they will be pleasantly surprised at the change.

Most of the favorable reviews speak for them selves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Exceptional service. If passing through and needing a place to sleep in the future, I would definitely do business again. Thanks for the great stay and being so kind even though it was so late in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your favorable review is greatly appreciated. The hotel has surely come a long way since then and we would really like to welcome you back to see how far we have come.

In any event your comments are sinceely appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#7 of 10 in Colby
283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
257 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Colby
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
American Inn Colby
American Inn Colby
#9 of 10 in Colby
34 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Oakley
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn & Suites Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites Colby

Property: Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Address: 1745 W 4th St, Colby, KS 67701-1546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn & Suites Colby 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is an outdoor property featuring 33 rooms at best rates in Colby, KS. Completly refurbished in 2012. Comfort and amenities of a franchise motel at budget rates. Continental breakfast including waffles assorted pastries, cereal, milk, juice and coffee from 6.30 am to 9 am every morning. Free high speed internet access in rooms and common areas. 32" flat screen TVs in most rooms. Free use of computer and free fax/copies in lobby. Self parking in front of room. Free RV and truck parking available. Children 12 and under stay free with paying adult. Laundry service provided and pets allowed for a small fee. Non smoking rooms available. Golf, tennis, swimming, boating, restaurants, shopping nearby. Management strives very hard to make your stay very pleasant, comfortable and memorable. Satisfaction Guaranteed at "your home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing