We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done.”
Review of Hampton Inn Colby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Colby
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, AR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well done.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stopover in Colby on western trip. Directions in Hampton Inn directory were poor -- actually very easy to access off I-70. Hotel fresh, clean. Nice bed, nice towels, nice shower. All you could want when passing through. Would gladly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkansasNana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    150
    50
    15
    5
See reviews for
192
172
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a reliable Hampton Inn off I/70 with comfortable beds and a nice breakfast. However, housekeeping could do a better job dusting the room and making sure drains are not clogged. Guests shouldn't have to point these things out! The hotel is two years old and it needs better signage because it was hard to get to coming from the west.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverrat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here on my way back from Denver. The best part about this stay was the friendly and helpful staff. The facilities were very well maintained and clean.

I enjoyed my stay and if I am the area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We've stopped in Colby many times over the years and this is one of the nicer properties in town. Kind of an odd location in that it's difficult to see if you're coming from the west. But it's just a few minutes off the interstate.

We stayed at three Hampton Inns over a week-long road trip, and I think this was the only one that honored our room request. Had a very quiet room on the top floor. Our room faced the interstate, but we had no problem at all with noise. It was the clean, comfortable room you expect from Hampton.

The free breakfast is a big draw for Hampton, so I'd be remiss if I didn't point out that their breakfast area is one of the least impressive I've seen. It's just not very well designed. Quite a bit of seating, but not much room to navigate around where the food is located. It makes for a difficult time of getting your meal prepared.

It wasn't quite great enough for us to say this'll be our go-to place in Colby, but it's certainly a nice option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great beds, clean rooms, great breakfast and for those that love coffee - I wasn't disappointed. The front desk staff in the morning was very nice and personable. Having stayed at many types of hotels on road trips around the country, we were happy we stopped here.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room - as with any hotel, we did hear people walking above us a few times also w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlyWedTeacher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a below average Hampton Inn. The room we had had an adjoining room and the people in the room next to us might as well have been in the room with us. I was awakened by the sound of a hair dryer thinking my husband was awake only to find he was still in bed. It was the people in the room beside us. After midnight we heard the vacuum cleaner start up and housekeeping was in a room next to us cleaning! What was that? Also, there is a no animal policy but we were growled at by a little pooch peeking out of the door across the hall from us and I am sure this was not an assistance animal. You could here pounding feet in the room above us all evening, very noisy! This hotel room did not have a refrigerator and the vending is all the way At the end if the hall and not by the entrance. We were told there were no king beds here either. We tried to enter the rear entrance with our key because it was closer to our room but the door knob was broken so we had to walk all the way around to the front . The breakfast is above average for a hotel but the chairs uses for seating were very dirty . Only two luggage carts available which makes it diffucult to have a fast exit in the morning. Hampton Inn use to be an upscale motel for travelers but I am afraid the standards have been lowered but there prices remain high. If you stay here do not get a room that adjoins another one and stay on the top floor .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay in a Hampton having read lots of reviews of them and seen them cited in other reviews as some sort of benchmark.

Although it was clean and comfortable and nothing to complain about it all just felt a bit too clinical for us it was also too far from anywhere to eat or drink. We travel by motorbike and prefer to walk out for an evening meal and drink when we asked about restaurants in walking distance we got very strange looks. We did manage to find a Chinese buffet about a mile away that was fine.

Fine as an over night stop over but not if you want character or convenient town centre amenities.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Colby
165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#7 of 10 in Colby
285 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
19.8 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Oakley
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Colby

Property: Hampton Inn Colby
Address: 1000 E Willow Ave, Colby, KS 67701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Colby Hotel Colby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing