We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
Ranked #1 of 2 Greenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best B & B we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Loverly quiet location with plenty of parking .Room was first Class and spotless.Beautifully decorated,no expense spared. We had a huge bed of excellent quality dressed with cotton bed linen.Bath room facilities were superb with lots of fluffy white towels : Every thing was of a high standard..The owners were most hospitable and even served us tea and biscuits on arrival.They booked us a table at the local restaurant and gave us a map to get there.Breakfast was served freshly cooked to perfection in the dinning hall which had superb views .What a great way to start the day .We had lots of places to visit including Dunster Castle and Hestercombe Gardens. Only problem we had was having to go home.However we will not hesitate to ask to stay again if we are in Somerset. We wish Liz and her husband every success in their new venture

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
89
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had three very enjoyable and wonderfully relaxing nights at The Old Dairy, the most comfortable bed we have slept in at any hotel / B and B. After busy days sightseeing it was great to come back to such a spotlessly clean and well furnished room, Liz has obviously put a huge amount of work into achieving such a high standard and all the little extra touches which, although not essential, make the difference between very good and really excellent ! ( eg torches and brollies in case you decide to walk along the lane to the local pub, the little fridge with fresh milk and soft drinks to help yourself to and a basket of toiletries, toothbrushes etc 'in case you forgot' ) The bathroom facilities were superb, great shower and nice smelling fluffy towels. Breakfast was very relaxed and Liz was so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The view from the dining room was great especially watching the woodpecker out on the seed feeders. The Old Dairy is easy to get to, conveniently located from the A38 and there is plenty to see and do in the area, especially if you are in the National Trust. If you are visiting this part of the country you MUST stay here ! Liz deserves great success with this gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini-cooperSdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Really nice bed and breakfast in a great location quiet Village close to a really good pub for a nice evening meal only downside was wished we could of stayed longer. Rooms to a very high standard very helpful posts great breakfast. 15 minute walk to nice old village pub which did good evening meal. 15 minutes drive from the motorway would thoroughly recommend

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank garyadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night at The Old Dairy and wish we had more time there. Liz is a very friendly and helpful person and runs her B&B with professionalism. We received a warm welcome and Liz helped us to relax straight away.The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, modern and spacious.
Maybe they could be named?
The views from the property and the breakfast room are magnificent.The garden is enchanting.
There is also plenty of space to park a car.
We have already recommended this B&B to other families and friends.
Best wishes to The Old Dairy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A hit. How lucky we were to find this perfect accommodation.
Yes perfect. Because of the friendly welcome bij Liz and Steve, location,
magnificent views, the garden, breakfast and out beautiful room combining the old wilth all the modern nedessities

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at The Old Dairy and it was a real treat. We were just looking for somewhere to stay while we helped my mother in law house hunting in Wellington over the weekend but the beautifully appointed room and the warm welcome made it a really pleasurable stay. The newly converted room is stylishly decorated with everything you might want (except for perhaps a hook by the shower to hang your towels on) and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. The breakfast was great, served in a lovely dining room with views over the countryside, and a cheeky squirrel for entertainment! We would definitely come back and would certainly recommend The Old Dairy to anyone visiting the area. We wish you every success with this fantastic venture!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IamIsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I needed a one night stay for a business trip and happened across the Old Dairy, I'm so glad I did and I've booked two more trips. Liz greeted me on arrival, made me a cuppa, had a chat and booked me a table at the local pub, exactly what I needed after my journey. The standard of refurbishment and decor is outstanding, the double room I stayed in was cosy with lots of thoughtful touches (like torches, proper coffee and fresh milk). The rooms being separate from the main house gives you privacy you don't expect in a B&B. Liz is a wonderful host, nothing is too much trouble and she makes a wonderful breakfast. I wish her every success.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenham
3.4 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
13.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.0 mi away
BeamBridge Inn
BeamBridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
14.9 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton

Property: The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
Address: Bishops Barton, Greenham, Wellington TA21 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington > Greenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Greenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, Breakfast & More at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton. Unwind and relax at the perfect rural retreat while enjoying our fully licensed Honesty Bar. Ideally located to explore Somerset and Devon, there are four beautiful en-suite B&B rooms, individually designed and located in a private converted barn as well as a Family Room in the main house. They offer luxury and comfort whilst retaining the charm and character of the Victorian era. Delicious home cooked evening meals served Sunday to Thursday. Families can enjoy everything Bishops Barton has to offer, staying in either our Ground Floor Junior Suite or our spacious Family Room in the Main Farmhouse and with the addition of the linked en-suite King Room we can even accommodate families of 6. Winner of Channel 4s Four In A Bed, find out for yourself why The Old Dairy scores top marks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing