We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful discovery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 York Harbour B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delightful discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

After four weeks on the road in a 26-foot motorhome, Our first stop "ashore" was an overnight stay at Captain Cook, in "The York". There was ample space for the motorhome to park while we luxuriated in the delightful cottage.
Mary-Lou is an exceptional host and made us feel welcome. She gave us a tour of her home town and described their life there. Fresh-baked bread and home-made jam topped off the day!
The cottages are comfortable, well-equipped, and spotless. We wish now that we'd allowed for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcherplant, Owner at Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Excellent review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Of all the cottage we visit in NFL, this was the best by all means. The interior is well finished in wood, all the necessary for cooking is there, and the bedroom are so warm ... From the balcony, a splendid view of the surrounding mountains & islands make it perfect for a couple or familly hide-a-way. As for Mary welcome, it shall be NFL trademark ...

I strongly recommand it ...

Room Tip: Any of the cottage is a good choice. And make sure to bring your camera ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the Captain's Quarters cottage for the first 4 nights of our trip and were not disappointed. It sits on its own at the end of a long driveway so it's very private (there are 3 other cottages plus the b&b). The two bedrooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and the cottage was spotless when we arrived. It also has a washer & dryer which comes in handy on a vacation. The living area is open concept and the kitchen is well-equipped. But the best part? The fabulous deck right over the water! It was so peaceful to sit out in the morning, or in the evening as we watched the sun go down. Mary Lou is very welcoming and helpful. Two people in our party play guitars and asked her if she had any up at the house and she did! She graciously let us borrow them and then came down one night with Alan for a drink, a listen, and a chat. A great night. After we left I realized that I had forgotten some clothes so I called Mary Lou to see if we could pick them up on our way back and she offered to leave them in Corner Brook so that we didn't have to drive back to the cottage. How wonderful! This cottage is located close to walking trails in the Blow Me Down mountains, Bottle Cove, Little Port, and the Blow Me Down Provincial park. A great location at a reasonable price with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in a lovely two bedroom cottage (called "The Lark") with a good-sized deck overlooking York Harbour and the Bay of Islands. The cottage is equipped with a kitchen, bath, linens and towels. This is a great find at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CdnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although arriving late in the evening we were greeted warmly by Mary-Lou. The cottage was spotless clean and well equipped with cooking utensils and dishes. The beds were very comfortable. We woke up to a gorgeous calm sunny day with fabulous views of Humber Arm from our ocean side deck. A bonus was being informed of the fabulous hiking trails in the area. Definitely a home away from home!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly constructed Lark Cottage. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Without a reservation, we were fortunate to find this wonderful place. Mary-Lou was gracious and the cabin was wonderful. We had two bedrooms (only used one) a bath, kitchen-dining-living room and private deck. The view from the deck was wonderful and a great place to just relax. They even include a barbecue grill on the deck. All the dishes and cookware are there for the using. Only thing missing in our cabin was a microwave and internet. We were allowed to use the internet connection in another cabin - the largest cabin. It would be a great place for people with a family to stay. Use the cabins as home base as they explore the area. There are no banks in the immediate area, but you can stop in Corner Brook on you way to Lark Harbour and get cash and stock up on provisions at the grocery store. We decided to stay two nights because it was that wonderful! There are many area hiking trails as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enneagram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a great experience, we arrived late at night without a prior booking and found a real gem. Allen & Mary-Lou were gracious, friendly and welcoming hosts and we were made to feel right at home immediately. The drive to Lark Harbour (45 mins west of Cornerbrook) is well worth the time as the scenery is spectacular along the way and the cabins at Captain Cook's B&B are brand new.
We watched the sun set at Cedar Cove and the next day climbed the Copper mine trail to the top (4 hours up and back) but the view was unbelievable and well worth the effort.
Judy & Stewart Barclay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barclaynstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbour
21.2 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 5 in Corner Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
20.9 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Grenfell Campus Summer Accommodations, Memorial University of Newfoundland
22.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
#2 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages

Property: Captain Cook Bed & Breakfast - Cottages
Address: 69 Main Street | P.O. Box 87, York Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador A0L 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > York Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbour
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing