We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start of our honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa L'Orange Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa L'Orange Bali
Ranked #2 of 2 Medahan B&B and Inns
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great start of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I spent the first leg of our Bali trip in Villa L'Orange. The overall experience was amazing. There are a total of 4 villas and since we travelled at a low season, we were the only guests. We stayed at the superior one bedroom villa. There were two other villas occupied by the owner's relatives. Throughout the stay we pretty much had the dining area and swimming pool to ourselves. From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the moment we checked out, we were treated as "friends". The staff were friendly and had a smile on them all the time. We were stuffed with food every morning as the chef always prepared more than what we had asked for (thank God my husband can eat!). We hired the villa driver for all the excursions and he was very informative. Since we wanted to try what locals eat, he also took us to a restaurant with fresh fish and we were the only foreigners! What an experience eating with your hand as well!

Some of the things I noticed that's worth mentioning,
1. Villa L'Orange is located at a fish village that is away from the tourist areas (Ubud being the closest is still another 20 mins drive). If you prefer to stay at the tourist areas, this villa is not for you. Since we wanted to stay away, this is a perfect location.
2. First night I was woken up by this strange insect sound (in my opinion quite loud) that I've never heard of. It started around 5 am and each time lasted for about 30 seconds. After asking the staff the next morning, they told me it was probably a gecko. Apparently gecko can get quite big in Bali.
3. The bathroom is not air conditioned. It can get quite hot and humid in an enclosed space. My recommendation would be leaving the bathroom door opened when it's not in use. The cold air from the bedroom balances the hot air in the bathroom- problem solved!

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa L'Orange and would definitely recommend it to our friends should they choose to visit Bali!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yajc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Karratha
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Villa L'Orange just gets better. We have been several times now, this time we travelled with my brother and his lovely wife - they have not been to Bali before. Seeing Bali with fresh eyes was so nice but we did have the perfect setting to enjoy it. The staff at the Villas made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, in fact they seemed to delight in the challenge of the little extras we asked. If in a small group I would suggest the Beach BBQ which is on offer from Chef Made. The vista is beautiful and the staff set the scene with all the trimmings. Lighting, music, tableware etc. Silver service +++
Made Driver is a master of touring and we cannot thank him enough. Even though we may go to the same places ie: Ubud, he always takes a slightly different route so we could soak up the different rural and town life as it happens. He is also very enjoyable company as well as very informative on Bali culture. These two staff members stand out because we used their services every day but all of the staff are exemplary hosts in their own quiet way. I personally loved the discreet, little lady that does the offerings to the Gods every morning at sunrise in her traditional wear. She does not speak English (nor I Balinese) but one morning when I was alone she gave me a sweet Balinese fruit with such a beautiful smile I will never forget. Who needs language?
My husband had almost lost the desire for Bali many moons ago when we stayed in Kuta, Tuban, Tanjung areas but since discovering Villa L'Orange he now knows there is more to Bali and he loves to come for the same relax reasons as I do. Firstly the beautiful villas and their envrionment and a very close second is the staff. Thanks Tiong, you have it so right.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianneKarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Spending my vacation in Villa L'Orange Bali was paradise experience. This would be mine most memorable vacation in my life. Me and my husband had been to this villa for 11 Days and we had a great time here. Everything is excellent here in villa. Staff people are so humble you never feel that you are with strangers. We were staying in Superior villa which was fantastically designed and very spacious and decorated with very beautiful show pieces. Very neat and clean, staff make sure that they clean everyday.

Bali itself is a very good and greenery place and staying in Villa L'orange was awesome and outstanding experience. The owner Teong, such lovely and lively person. Had a great time during New year.

Staff are the excellent people who add more value to the villa. Anytime you call them they are there by a min and make sure that we get what we need. They can arrange whatever we want no matter where it is, it might be in beach or pool or tree house anywhere any service is done without any hesitation or ignorance.

Totally me and husband had a great time with lovely and humble people and fun all the time.
I would like to thank Teong, Eko, Made awa, Irfan, chef and two ladies and other staff from bottom of my heart for making our vacation most memorable.

I recommend everyone to go and experience this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I found Villa Orange after hours of research on Trip Advisor, it is an amazing find.

This was our first time to Bali. Arriving after dark, we were greeted at the airport to be fast tracked through customs, skipping the queues a welcome surprise included in our rates and then welcomed to the villa by Tiong, the owner, the staff and Bella and Orange, the two beautiful resident dogs.

Staying in the Superior Villa, we woke to a stunning view of the beach, a huge pool and Dutch inspired open living room, kitchen and bathroom all beautifully designed by the Owner Tiong...who we decided missed his calling as an interior designer! It is hard to believe that the villas are more than a year old.

We had the villa to ourselves, as the other guests were surfing a little way down the coast and were looked after by everyone there, even the 2 dogs that joined us on a walk along the beach, wonderful. The staff were never invasive and after 4 days, we felt as if we had become part of the Villa Orange family.

We would thoroughly recommend going out with Made, the villa’s driver who will give you a personal tour of the island and any places you wish to see. Having lived in the area since childhood, he is naturally an amazing guide and happy to answer all questions, we went out to Ubud of a morning and ended up going to a temple, Ubud palace, a coffee plantation, art gallery and the volcano! His local knowledge came to the fore when we wanted to swim in the sea. This is not recommended along the East coast due to the strong rip currents, but Made took us to an off the beaten track lagoon, the Blue Lagoon (you must go), that is safe and you can snorkel. It was like being in a tropical aquarium just 5m out, wonderful.

Villa Orange is in a great location to explore the island and we were genuinely upset to leave Tiong and all his staff, having made us so welcome. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandSarah_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Like the idea of living in a Balinese fishing village, but with all the western comforts and no daily city pressures? That's what you'll find when you stay at Villa L'Orange, Gianyar. Local Balinese hospitality combined with the Indonesian-Dutch connection of the owner produces the successful recipe for an exceptionally friendly personal attention and service by staff, mouthwatering authentic traditional Indonesian dishes, typical dutch sweets and delicacies, and sensational barbecues on the beach. A private pool, jacuzzi, dirt-cheap massages, the beach literaly at the backdoor and spectacular sunrises equates to everything relaxing in this resort-style tropical and peaceful homely accommodation. All of this only 1/2 hour away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Denpasar, if that's your scene. The private driver will take you anywhere you wish to go. Come and check it out for yourself, you won't be disappointed. A visit to Villa L'Orange will make you feel at home straight away.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Consider this as an act of altruism on our behalf. Villa Orange Bali can accomodate a fairly limited number of guests and we wish to visit again soon.
This is a place to relax while having a panoramic view on the beach where the river meets the sea and where the Balinese play, swim or take a bath. Amid these surroundings of untouched local life the Villa provides 21st century comforts to its guests. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. Fully Air conditioned , flatscreen TV's , kitchen, showers and bath. The Cuisine is delicious. .Fresh fish is the only merchandise offered by the local fishermen; this is not a location for shopping or night life amusement. However, one of the drivers will take you to there any time. At the same time there is full opportunity to visit places for art and culture nearby. There is even a large Safari Park within a two or three minutes drive and which is really worthwhile to visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetersBigapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Affordable, 5-star luxury, beach side resort-style Home away from Home. Limited number of guests (3 villas), personal attention from very friendly staff (ask and the staff will find it for you), excellent meals and a car with driver at your service. What else would you want? Only 1/2 - 1 hour away from Denpasar and major tourist attractions, e.g. Ubud, Kuta, Sanur. Tranquil surroundings where relaxing and enjoying are the motto.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lien_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medahan
0.2 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Bali Diamond Villas
Bali Diamond Villas
#2 of 3 in Keramas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
3.7 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
1.2 mi away
Kori Maharani Villas
Kori Maharani Villas
#31 of 45 in Gianyar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa L'Orange Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa L'Orange Bali

Property: Villa L'Orange Bali
Address: Br. Cucukan, Medahan, Blahbatuh, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Blahbatuh > Medahan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Medahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa L'Orange Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Orange Bali, a beachfront villa complex, has 2 two bedroom and two one bedroom villas, all with ensuite (open air, private) bathroom.In each villa, there is a spacious air-conditioned livingroom provided with dining and sitting arrangements. A kichenette with refrigirator, mini bar and microwave is also provided. All facilities you need for a luxurious vacation ( restaurant, bar, swimmingpool, private beach, high speed WiFi internet, cable TV, DVD player)are available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing