We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday roast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hainford Chequers

Hainford Chequers
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hainford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“sunday roast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Will not go back we both had a sunday roast it was very greasy and the Yorkshire pudding was dreadful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIDGET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    61
    37
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely thatched pub with an extensive menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been here many times and enjoyed it,so made an effort to call in and eat in the way back from Norwich .
Enjoyed lovely lasagne and good real ales- my son had the chicken and ribs combo, and commented that the ribs had hardly any meat on them. They were promptly exchanged for scampi which was lovely. We will be back!:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were there on Monday lunch time .they are busy.wife had crab and I had a lamb shank.my lamb shank was delicious,really tasty,wife said she really enjoyed it.service staff were so helpful and very polite.nice place for a meal.will recommend chequers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been to the Chequers a number of times in the past and always foud the food acceptable if a little overpriced. Today it was truly dreadful. I was in a party of six - of which three refused to pay for the meal.

I had a pork and apple bagguette. The pork was red raw and you would need a magnifying glass to spot the apple sauce. The bagguette was crispy as though it had been re-heated in an oven.

Two friends had sandwiches where the bread was dry and totally devoid of butter.

My wife had a crab salad which cost £8.25. The crab was the smallest possible and the salad consisted of a few lettuce leaves and half a tomato. We complained about the food and was told it is usually better and would we give them another chance. Certainly the food couldn't be worse and there are too many good pubs to eat at without giving this place a second chance. Truly horrible experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandAnneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Traditional 17th Century Thatched Country Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A country pub serving good quality food at a reasonable price. The menu is fairly extensive opens 12 - 3 p.m. for lunch and 6 p.m. until pub closes for dinner. Large car park, outside area and children's play area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hainford Chequers also viewed

Hevingham, Norfolk
 
Horsham St Faith, Norfolk
 

Been to Hainford Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing