We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Hainford Chequers

Hainford Chequers
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hainford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were there on Monday lunch time .they are busy.wife had crab and I had a lamb shank.my lamb shank was delicious,really tasty,wife said she really enjoyed it.service staff were so helpful and very polite.nice place for a meal.will recommend chequers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    68
    41
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just terrible”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been to the Chequers a number of times in the past and always foud the food acceptable if a little overpriced. Today it was truly dreadful. I was in a party of six - of which three refused to pay for the meal.

I had a pork and apple bagguette. The pork was red raw and you would need a magnifying glass to spot the apple sauce. The bagguette was crispy as though it had been re-heated in an oven.

Two friends had sandwiches where the bread was dry and totally devoid of butter.

My wife had a crab salad which cost £8.25. The crab was the smallest possible and the salad consisted of a few lettuce leaves and half a tomato. We complained about the food and was told it is usually better and would we give them another chance. Certainly the food couldn't be worse and there are too many good pubs to eat at without giving this place a second chance. Truly horrible experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandAnneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Traditional 17th Century Thatched Country Inn”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A country pub serving good quality food at a reasonable price. The menu is fairly extensive opens 12 - 3 p.m. for lunch and 6 p.m. until pub closes for dinner. Large car park, outside area and children's play area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I used to love this pub great menu & home cooked food, but now like a burger & steak pub don't like the change

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic roast”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant on Fathers day without a reservation. It was busy but the staff were really accommodating and found us a table. We had rare roast beef and a turkey roast. It was outstanding. The beef was tender and the local sausage wrapped in bacon was lovely. The portions were ample and the service excellent. Would recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hainford Chequers also viewed

Hevingham, Norfolk
 
Horsham St Faith, Norfolk
 

Been to Hainford Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing