We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub grub”
Review of Hainford Chequers

Hainford Chequers
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hainford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 17, 2013

we took some elderly relatives here for a meal after there day out we were all impressed on the service and food .great range on menu and specials, would go there again and again,nice gardens, and lovely church opposite

2  Thank marriyan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 307 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to The Chequers on the 11th,January,2013 for a meal booked at 19.30pm we had a group of 23 persons, and the atmosphere is good within the group and the resturant as a whole, but the food was a different matter, the food arrived at different intervals and by the time the last person had got their food the first people had finished theirs, the portions were small in some cases, take for instance some people had cod chips with mushy peas and tarta sauce £12.95 well over priced, you could go to a chip shop and get the same meal for around £6 with the same atmosphere, this is why people are stopping at home with a takeaway and a bottle of wine.. This pub/resturant has changed since I visted years ago. in the 1990's the pub burnt down which is a thatched Norfolk pub and a firefighter lost his life trying to rescue the owners dog but looking at the building now you would never know it had been even rebuilt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R K, Owner at Hainford Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Many Thanks for your Geniune review and we taken our customers feedback quiet seriously. Glad you like the environment, And we are sorry that your orders were not delivered together.

We have taken your feed back on the Quantity positively. but to be fair we can't compare the fish and chip show with establishment like Chequers.

As you mentioned the Venue was refurbished in 1990. Its been 2 decades...We do internal refurb quite often.

Once again many thanks for your review, and will be working on your feed back, So you have better expereince next time.

Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was terrible and very mean portions to add insult to injury really. It's very old and looks shabby, not old in a good way, not been updated in years and looks like it needs a good scrub! The main issue is definitly the food though, it's not cheap and I had the monkfish which was obviously frozen as tasted of nothing and I had 3 small pieces that I cut in half just to make them last 6 mouthfuls! I complained and they offered to take £3 off the bill, as I do not like to complain I accepted it without making a fuss and made a promise to myself that I would not return, even though I live in Hainford!

Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R K, Owner at Hainford Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for Your Review, But Unfortunately we never had Monk fish in our Menu in August nor we have one now. We will be reporting this review to the concerced authorities to take further action. If you have eaten Monk fish in our restaurant in August can you please produce the copy of the bill..as you have taken 4 months to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was our second visit to Chequers on New Years Day, it was as good as the first visit.
Very nice feelings as a traditional pub and restaurant.Friendly staff,place was nice and clean.
Good menu and the food was nice and fresh.
All our family enjoyed the dinner after some drinks.
Will definitly visit next time when we are around norwich region.
Thank you for the great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A wonderful treditional country pub in peaceful village , food is excellent - really taste with perfect Portion size.selection of local ales are good with friendly service. And love the menu especially special board , i had great time with friends n family , thanx chequers , I can strongly recommend to have meal in this pub .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hainford Chequers also viewed

 
Horsham St Faith, Norfolk
 

Been to Hainford Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing