We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Kirindy forest”
Review of Kirindy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirindy Mitea National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirindy Lodge
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is very cheap therefore you can't expect a five star luxury suite but the forest was a highlight of our three weeks vacation. We have always a sleeping back in our luggage on our trips. If you miss a night at Kirindy you won't see all the nocturnal lemurs and fosa. We spend there one night only, not enough. Of course the food wasn't great but it is totally remote and the stuff is kind, The guide was passioned, unbelievable what he discovered in the night. We saw five or six nocturnal Lemurs, also Madame Bethe's mouse lemur and at the end a fosa!!!! The next morning we saw several Verreux's Sifakas also with babys!!! and red fronted brown lemur and finally lots of birds. Absolutely amazing place for wildlife enthusiastics, don't care about the hut, have a thin sleeping back 'cause it very hot also in the night and some cookis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night to explore the forest (at night and the nest day). Forest great but 'eco lodge' appalling. Room/Hut had disgustingly dirty matresses (looking under the sheet to see the matresss was a mistake, shower cubicle dirty and toilet hut (about 20mtres away from hut didn't have a lock on the door).
Mosquito nets had multiple holes as well.

Food was the worst... we ordered spagatti and vegetablesf or 20,000 Ariary - very expensive for madagscar. It arrived and was extremeyl greasy noodles and veg. the grease tasted like it had been used multiple times! Top tip is to order a starter (no the chinese soup though which was noodles in grey water and an egg on top) for about 5,000 \and then supplement with your own food.

Very very poor. No excuse as other basic accommodation we stayed in was far far better.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ExploringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Day and night walks around the Kirindy Forest leave from this camp, so it is ideally placed for a wildlife trip.

Also, if you want to see fosa in Madagascar, then you must come here. There is a resident fosa in the neighbourhood who sometimes catches the chickens kept by the lodge. Most afternoons he comes by the camp to check out the chickens.

Yes, the huts are basic, but there are different grades. A previous reviewer mentioned a communal toilet, but my hut had a bathroom. Whilst the bathroom was far from luxurious, it was fine.

I didn't have any problem with the huts being dirty or anything like that, and sleeping in the forest surrounded by wildlife is one of the reasons to come to Madagascar.

To be clear, you come here for the wildlife, not the huts. If you transported the huts into a regular setting then they'd be getting a two rating at best! Its the location and ease of wildlife spotting which earns four marks.

In terms of the Kirindy forest itself, I did see a good amount of wildlife (including sifaka), but not as much as at Andasibe National Park. That said, Kirindy is a very different environment being dry forest as opposed to rain forest and the fosa spotting potential makes it worthy of a stop if you are in the West.

Room Tip: There are different grades - all are basic, but some are more basic than others! And some have bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Kirindy lodge is nestled right within the forest. It is the only option for visiting the Kirindy, unless you go there as a day trip from Morondava. The individual bungalows/huts, are of course very basic, but they are within a forest, miles from anywhere. Our hut had 2 beds in it, one double, and one single. A mosquito net was provided, and as with a lot of huts of this type, there were shutters and no windows. Our hut had an en-suite, which consisted of a sit down, flushing toilet, and a cold water shower. Not all huts had en-suites, and the communal toilet was a squat hole, similar to the ones you get in Asia. We slept perfectly well, and it was nice to be right in the forest, with nature all around.
The electricity is run by a generator, and so of course goes off at night (10pm), and I think most people would expect that in such a remote location.
The restaurant was nice, and the choice of food was more than enough for a one or 2 night stay. The chicken didn't have much meat on it, but that seems to be the case at most places in Madagascar. They serve beer also.
The wildlife viewings at Kirindy are superb, and we saw Red-fronted brown lemurs around the lodge, and right next to our hut. A mouse lemur was asleep in the restaurant, and we saw a fossa by the kitchen. It is also possible to see the giant jumping rat, and lots of types of lemurs and chameleons.
This is the place to stay if you want to be immersed in nature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkey_Su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Cannot really comment on value, as part of a tour arranged in the UK, so had to assume "average" in order to submit the review. The saving graces for Kirindy are the setting, which gives good wildlife viewing opportunities - and the friendly staff. Food was awful and a very limited menu. Rooms were less than basic and bedclothes musty smelling. Filthy, stinking outside communal toilet facility, hole-in-the-ground, wooden shed, no lighting once electricity went off, which was fairly early at night - tough luck if you get caught short during the night! Yes, we got to see a fossa, which was the main purpose of the visit - but thank goodness we only had to endure one night in the place to achieve that. Kirindy needs to raise its standards. "Basic" is fine - but "Basic and clean" is an absolute necessity for most travellers these days.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seeaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Quagga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirindy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirindy Lodge

Address: Kirindy Forest, Kirindy Mitea National Park, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Kirindy Mitea National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kirindy Mitea National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing