We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, Manafiafy & Mandrare camp are rare finds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahatalaky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
391 reviews
382 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“What a gem, Manafiafy & Mandrare camp are rare finds”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Manafiafy was also a brutal 3 hour drive from fort dauphin, but once here, the place was worth the trek. There are five or six standalone & super spacious villas each with immediate access to a pristine private beach, like at Mandrare Camp, the food was delicious and presented the way you would expect only at top restaurants around the world. The seafood was fresh and I had the best sashimi and oysters here! Unfortunately I was only here for two nights as it was definitely too short!

So after being in a car for 7 hours ( Mandrare to Fort Dauphin to Manafiafy ) I tried to pack in as much as possible for the short stay, a sunset mangrove tour followed by a sunrise birdwatching trip, followed by a nearby walk /hike in a forest with troops of inquisitive brown lemurs, then a night walk with the owner's wife Amal and the cheerful and knowledgeable guide Ernest (who is all the way from Diego Surez in the far North) to see chameleons and more lemurs.

The various beaches out here were all pristine and the weather (in December) was perfect. Service was great here, everytime I washed my hands in the bar area, the wait staff would be standing behind me with towel.

The only downside really were that both the mossies and the flies were viscious ....Just like at Mandrare, even with insect repellent on under my long pants, they still bit me through my pants.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A 3hr drive from Fort Dauphin. Thomas and Danielle made us very welcome and could not have been more helpful, and Ernest our guide was walking encyclopedia! Our bungalow was very spacious, and very attractive; mother-of-pearl shells are set into the shower floor :-). Twin beds (one massive), with mosquito nets. Private deck, with the beach and ocean just a few steps away. We enjoyed snorkelling, a dusk/night walk in the forest, a stunning pirogue bird-watching trip into the extensive mangrove lagoon at dawn, and a fascinating walk into the nearby fishing village.

The dining area was 2 mins walk through the trees; mostly our table was set on the beach under the spreading boughs of the fig tree (lit with hurricane lamps at night). The food was tasty and beautifully presented (although we both fell ill with diarrhoea on our 3rd day). The waiters were charming, if somewhat intrusively over-attentive! And once again, the guests before us had drunk all the Bombay Sapphire grrrr! But we had a lovely time in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingHappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our second time with family in Manafiafy and it was even better! We enjoyed a wonderful weather, bathing in fantastic beaches and enjoyed the calm of the place. The service is excellent and the bungalows comfortable and very nice. There are activities available to do around the lodge.
There is room for improvement for the food, with all this fresh fish available and the wonderful fruits and vegetables in Madagascar, it's possible to offer excellent meals. The presentation is always fantastic, but would be worth it to improve in how to cook grilled fish and seafood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and found the lodge to be simply beautiful. On our first night we were the only guests there!

As soon as we walked into our lodge we thought 'wow'! The rustic decor and space were both impressive. We had a room which looked straight onto the beach and into the Indian Ocean! We had a secluded beach to ourselves! A major bonus for us was seeing whales breeching on the horizon and that was within 10 minutes of our arrival! We went on to see more dolphins and whales in the area over the few days- lucky us!

The only negative was the massage that my husband and I had- it felt more like torture than pampering! I don't know if this was a one off but having had a number of massages all over the world, I have never experienced one quite like the one I did there!

Michelle and Dino were great company and indeed all staff were happy and helpful! The food was also lovely. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody, it is one of my favourite places and I suspect it will always remain so!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a fabulous time in Madagascar, but the best of the best of the best was Manafiafy Beach and Rainforest Lodge. It is beautifully situated with gorgeous beach views, absolutely white sand and thousands of little shells you can collect just outside your luxury cabin. The food is five-star and the staff couldn't be nicer. Depending on the weather and our interests, we had different activities planned for us -- hiking, boat-tours, bird-watching, bat-watching, the local village, etc. Had the water been warmer (we came in winter) we could have done more swimming and other water activities, as well. Everything was included in the price (not cheap, but lots of value), and there were so many personal little extras that we felt like this was heaven on earth. And just maybe, it was!
The only negative -- there always has to be one -- was the terrible road that takes you have to drive to get to the lodge. On the other hand, that made arriving there even better, and we truly never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Windhoek_Namibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a place! We came from Mandrare which is a near 7 hour road trip on some unbelievably bad roads and were on the verge of crankiness. Not a chance! The warmest welcome, a setting that Alex Garland must have had in mind when he wrote The Beach, Pavillions with lovely design, wooden floors and space and views to die for. Whether going birding in the mangroves, watching whales do their acrobatics or simply going to the local fishing village, the whole thing was stunning.
The staff are delightful, nothing is ever too much and the food is delicious and plentiful. special mention to Ali, who as our guide was a wonderful combination of knowledge and enthusiasm, Dino for brightening up our days with his smiles and Danielle as a truly nice hostess. The local artist is Nelson who lives on site and provides wonderful carvings and had a deft hand in the design of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubiquitous111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

a wonderful plunge into the unspoilt south of madagascar. you are picked up at the airport of fort dauphin and already on the 2,5 hours beautiful ride your hosts will tell you about everything you want to know about madagascar. the lodge itself is located on a beautiful bay with beautiful cottages. we stayed with our three teenagers in the family lodge which is done with great taste. wonderful fresh food, very nice staff thanks ernesto for the great guiding. do not forget to just sit on the rocks an watch the mighty indian ocean roll in. great to combine also with madare lodge on the river. Mora travel in antananarivo was very helpful organising. Make sure you spend a day and night in tana. check also the other reviews

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahatalaky
0.0 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Anjajavy L'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Anjajavy
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsara Komba Luxury Beach Forest Lodge
0.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isalo Rock Lodge
Isalo Rock Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isalo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge

Property: Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge
Address: Manafiafy Street | St Luce, Mahatalaky Tana 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Mahatalaky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mahatalaky
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury in a truly breathtaking setting…Sparkling blue seas, verdant rain-forests, abundant wildlife, and distant mountains, this small and intimate lodge offers a taste of serenity to all of our guests. Nestled into a forest fringed cove, our luxury thatched bungalows offer private decked terraces inches from the sea, perfectly reflecting the tranquility of their natural surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing