We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahatalaky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We adored Manafiafy! We were quite nervous about booking it for our honeymoon, but Edward was there to meet us as promised at tiny Fort Dauphin airport. We were driven to the camp, passing through unspoilt villages and beautiful scenery. On arrival, we could not believe the beauty of the surroundings, looking out onto an isolated bay. Our room was a huge thatched bungalow with steps onto the private white sand beach. We went on boat trips into the mangrove swamps accompanied by the knowledgeable guides, all included in our room rate. We saw baby crocodiles, lemurs, and beautiful birds. A walk to the nearby fishing village was a highlight. The most amazing thing of all was the quality of the service and food, however. The staff put on an oyster lunch for us, and lobster meals. Everything was freshly cooked, and to an incredible standard. Every meal was delicious. The staff, particularly charming Dino, could not do enough for us. Edward was a wonderful and entertaining host, chatting around the camp fire with us in the evenings over a very nice local beer. We had a wonderful candlelit dinner on the beach on our last night, with more lobster. At the end of our stay, Edward took us to the airport and made sure we got our flight. We felt so thoroughly looked after. Compared to the luxury Constance Tsarabanjina lodge we stayed in for the first week of our trip, we much preferred Manafiafy - it felt more genuine, the food was far superior, and the service better. We were only sorry not to get to Edward's other camp. We cannot recommend Manafiafy highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 81 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

Wonderful place to go. Nothing quite like it. Amazing rooms.

We stayed here and the river camp which had a very different feel but is worth the visit.

Only comments would be to have some sort of room service / flag on the beach for drinks etc.

Stayed: September 2011
Thank potting23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After having had an unforgetable experience at the other property, the Mundrare Camp, we wondered if this could possibly be as wonderful. We were not disappointed. The rooms, the food, the service were all equally as exceptional as at the Mundrare Camp. The cottages all have a private entrance to a long white sand beach. Again the scenery was stunning, the guides knowlegdable, and everyone was catering to our every need. Edward has a way of knowing just what you like and he provides everything with style. I would recommend anyone to visit both properties. Our only mistake was that we did not stay a few extra days. The staff are vigilant in making sure you catch any flights you have booked. They check flight time changes and keep you updated. This service adds so much to a worry free, relaxing holiday. Edward met us at the airport when we flew out just to make sure everything was fine. He also arranged a tour of the capital for the next day as we were not scheduled to leave until later.
This was an experience of a lifetime, at both the River Camp and at the Beach Lodge. We highly recommend it and we know you will not, in any way, be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BANDBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A perfect place to end our adventure! Perhaps the most romantic spot on earth yet it had great family snorkelling, beach and nocturnal lemur walks and wonder food. The service was exemplary and the guides informative and charming. It is simply one of the nicest places on earth to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We decided to spend 3.5 weeks in Mada over Xmas and NY and were lucky enough to stay at Manafiafy for several of those days. Whatever we were expecting, nothing could have prepared us for the little slice of heaven we experienced.

The food is TO DIE FOR - it's fresh, ridiculously tasty and always served by smiling staff. Our toughest decision was what time to eat breakfast?! We looked forward to every single meal (and are still trying to work out how to bake bread like that!).

The bungalows are totally secluded. We went to sleep and work up to the sound of the waves each day and I can't tell you what that does for ones stress levels...bliss...

There's loads to do too, so if you're into snorkelling, fishing, walks or lazing by the sea with your favourite book and chilled glass of something, you won't be disappointed. Waking up, walking 10 paces and jumping into the water is the only way to start your day at Manfiafy. If we go back to Mada, we'll definitely be popping in to see the gang (and to get that massage overlooking the sea!!!).

Thanks guys! You made our first trip to Africa a tough act to follow...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lausyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We visited this lodge at the end of our trip and wished we had allocated far more time here! The place is stunning, exactly as you would imagine paradise! The lodges themselves are amazing, the staff are so friendly and helpful, and there are so many activities to choose from. The food is excellent, all freshly sourced and created into excellent dishes. I have no negative comments for this place and it's staff. We were here on honeymoon and already have plans to return for our ten year anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Possibly the best hotel in Madagascar. Wonderful setting with very private but spacious bungalows tastefully appointed. The sea is literally a few steps from your terrace.

Food is truly amazing. Delicious fresh local seafood, presented with utmost care. We stayed for three nights, but every meal was a real treat: Oysters, lobster, different kind of fish, etc.

Service is outstanding, staff very attentive. We have not encountered such great service elsewhere in Madagascar. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romeromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahatalaky
0 mi away
Isalo Rock Lodge
Isalo Rock Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isalo
390 reviews
0 mi away
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
125 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#6 of 59 in Antananarivo
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
#11 of 59 in Antananarivo
187 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge

Address: Manafiafy Street | St Luce, Mahatalaky Tana 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Mahatalaky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mahatalaky
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury in a truly breathtaking setting…Sparkling blue seas, verdant rain-forests, abundant wildlife, and distant mountains, this small and intimate lodge offers a taste of serenity to all of our guests. Nestled into a forest fringed cove, our luxury thatched bungalows offer private decked terraces inches from the sea, perfectly reflecting the tranquility of their natural surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing