We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Natron Tented Camp
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had mixed feelings about this place, partly because of the somewhat unhelpful attitude of their reservations department and partly because of some bad reviews here. There are a number of Lake Natron camps and I wonder if the bad reviews are for another camp with a similar name.

I like this place a lot. It's a bit rustic but that is to be expected in such a remote area. The staff were lovely and the food was good. Four course dinner, I only managed 3 and had to miss dessert! I asked for Stoney Tangawesi and they didn't have any and later in the afternoon, they told me they had gone out and got some for me.

I loved the pool.

The area is amazing! Well worth a visit. The only thing that spoiled it were some Chinese tourists who came by helicopter and drove the flamingos away just as we got to them. I hope the camp and the area will think about whether they allow this form of transport into the area as it surely cannot be environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicRoseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear NicRoseP,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Lake Natron Tented Camp.

We are pleased that you found the camp to be in a nice location with nice food and lovely staff. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the natural pool.

I am however concerned by your comment on our reservations department - kindly send me an email with the full details of what transpired that caused you to think that they were unhelpful.

My email address is marketing@moivaro.com and I will be happy to hear from you with your comments.

Otherwise we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Karibu Sana next time!

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
26
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved everything about this camp. The pool was lovely and the rooms were great especially the outdoor shower. The food was excellent as well and the Maasai culture talk made my first night staying here. The only problem is the location it is out of the way of most places, even so the waterfall walk was amazing and was one of the best experiences on my trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatianaSaleiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear KatianaSaleiko,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

We are happy that you had a lovely time at the Lake Natron Tented Camp.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed with a friend at the camp at the end of June for two nights. The location is very remote and the camp is set amongst greenery in what is otherwise a very dry landscape.
The staff were amazing and the food quite good as well, but the general maintenance of the camp needs to improve. The first thing we saw on entering the camp were broken lamps and a lot of dust on the ceiling of the restaurant. The rooms (standard) are adequate but again maintenance is poor: there was a leak in the bathroom sink and my bed was sloping which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep.
As mentioned earlier, the staff made up for all these problems and we did enjoy our stay. I just hope Moivaro would pay more attention to the little details which would make this place stand out much more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeRuiXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

- nice employees
- nice dinner area with the view of the landscape
- good dinner and breakfast.
- nice tents. A little bit simple from inside but ok and clean. There is an inside shower and also an outside shower ( there is also a... How can I call it... Hand made bath if you want to take a bath;))
- the only negative point I think is that we didnt want to go into the swimming pool as it was not clear and clean...
To summarize, knowing that we are in the middle of nowhere, prestations are very good ( excluding the swimming pool). But we went there for the volcano and the like so it didnt matter so much. It would just have been a plus to swimm;)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zouz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Zouz69,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you you found the camp to have nice employees, nice area with view of the landscape,good dinner, breakfast and nice simple tents.

I however would like to clarify one issue that you might have misunderstood. The swimming pool at the camp is built as a natural pool, this means that instead of the tiles that are so common in the other pools, we used naturally occurring rocks with drainage for the swimming pool.

The idea is to keep the camp and its environs as natural as possible.

This means that the pool is absolutely clean, however as the rocks are dark and the pool is filled with water, the reflection from these rocks show a tint on the water that in turn might make you think the water is not clean.

Had you just asked the staff at the camp about the pool, they would have explained this to you and you would have enjoyed that much needed swim!

Due to this feedback received from you, We are now working on putting a small signage explaining this for future guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lake Natron Camp.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANGHAI
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It was not easy to achieve Lake Natron, so the small oasis of the Camp beside the lake seemed so kind for tired people.Several wooden houses were inside the jungle,mosquito and bathing avialable.I heard at least 4 kinds of birds singing on that night.
The staffs were quite polite, although the food supply was not very good...you could imagine and forgive this considering how far it was from any city.The power supply was only avaialble in dinning room several hours after 6PM,it was necessary to get cells and camaras charged ASAP.
The big star of Lake Narton is undoudtly flamingo, and it presents zebra,giraffe as well. Just keep your eyes wide open.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XUEGANG Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear XUEGANG Z,

Thank you for your review of the Lake Natron Camp.

It is true that the camp is perched on a hill overlooking the Lake Natron and this provides beautiful views of the scenery below.

We have noted that you found the staff polite and the birds singing delightful.

We apologies that you thought that the food was not enough. We always strive to provide standard portions of food for all guests and you could have gotten more had you asked one of our staff for another serving.

The camp is powered by generator from around 5pm to midnight and there after all rooms are provided with simple lights with matches that guests can use.

During the day, the restaurant area is solar powered so that guests may charge their cameras etc and also for the much needed cold drink.

Thank you for staying with us!

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lake Natron Tented Camp is a quiet place, but there are activities to conquer the silence.
It’s not a place known for its wildlife, but a place I enjoyed staying. I visited Lake Natron to have a glimpse of the flamingo breeding zone, a trip to Springs of Engaresero River and loved my hiking to the waterfall.
The natural pool is very refreshing, which is welcome at the hot and dry daytime.
If you like simplicity and beautiful views you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Natron and we hope to host you when you visit the area next time.

All our best,

Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is managed by maasai and a part of the revenues go for the maasai community. And the staff really tried a lot to make its guests feel comfortable so my impression is very positive despite certain shortcomings I describe below.

You will receive a bungalow which is small but with a very original bathroom as if from the Flintstones :-). There is a bathroom inside and a shower outside. The shower outside is surrounded by a high wall so it forms part of the whole bungalow. The beds are comfortable, however a friend found that the net was instable.

You do not have any plugs to charge your batteries or to dry your hair in the bungalow - you have to go to the restaurant for this. There is hardly space to move around in the bungalow, so it is not suitable for spending time there apart from sleeping. It is very warm and there are a lot of mosquitos - so be prepared. You need a light to move around during the night since there is no electricity after 10-11pm. The path between the bungalows and the restaurant is dusty.

The restaurant is very nice, there is also a fire place outside of the restaurant. The service is great and if something is not alright please bear with the personnel - only some of them speak English well. We had the maasai Marco for a guide and he was excellent - just fantastic.

Just bear in mind that you pay for your drinks and all prices are in Tanzanian shillings. You can pay in dollars at an unfavorable exchange rate (1USD = 1450 Tanzanian shilling at the end of July 2013)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Natron
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Migunga Tented Camp
Migunga Tented Camp
#9 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#23 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maasai Giraffe Eco Lodge
Maasai Giraffe Eco Lodge
#1 of 8 in Lake Natron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Natron Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Natron Tented Camp

Property: Lake Natron Tented Camp
Address: Lake Natron, Lake Natron, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Natron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Natron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Natron Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild and remote Lake Natron lies in the northeast of Tanzania in betweenthe Ngorongoro Highlands and Serengeti plains. Here it is the landscaperather than the animals that is the attraction - the area around the lakeinhabited by Maasai is dry, desolate and hauntingly beautiful.Situated at the base of Africa's only active volcano Oldonyo Lengai (Mountain of God), Lake Natron is one of the most alkaline lakes in the world. The lake is home to millions of tiny crustaceans, attracting literally thousands of lesser flamingo's and it is therefore one of the most important flamingo breeding grounds on earth.Unique in its setting, Lake Natron Tented Camp is set back in a grove of trees slightly removed from the dusty terrain of the lake. Clean safari tents offer showers, comfortable beds and a private veranda. A fully stocked bar and candle lit restaurant ensure you have a cold drink and delicious food at the end of an arduous climb or long days walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Natron Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing