We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Charlton 28

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlton 28
Ranked #2 of 4 Charlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and I have been raving about it ever since!

Julie and Trevor were so kind and accommodating; I don't think I have stayed anywhere where I have felt more at home. The room itself was lovely, and Julie went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. Trevor even gave us a lift to the wedding so we didn't need to worry about driving!

I can highly recommend the Full English breakfast - which I had two days running - and there were plenty of other delicious nibbles to snack on.

Overall, it was just a lovely experience and really made the weekend away feel special. If you are thinking of visiting Charlton or the surrounding area, this really is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Polly & Richard, thank you both so much for truly amazing comments, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, but you both made our job so easy by being absolutely delightful guests. We hope you will come and stay again. Julie & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here the night before my brother's wedding and it was the perfect way to prepare. Absolutely charming couple who can't do enough to make you feel welcome. Comfortable rooms... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeInwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Joe, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay, and would love for you to come back and stay with us again. Julie & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a fabulous bed and breakfast, offering more than just that. Trevor and Julie were super. Nothing was too much trouble. It was peaceful, relaxing, very clean and confortable.
but it was also close, easy walking distance to an amazing pub. Super walks around the village

The hospitaility was superb.

Thank you Trevor and Julie for such a warm and friendly welcome.

We will be back again!

Yvonne, Dorset

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you both so much for taking time to review us. It was delightful to have you both to stay, and hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I wanted a few days away and Charlton 28 was in the right area and had good reviews. Having now been to Charlton 28 we wish we could have stayed there so much longer! We will definitely be looking to go back in the future. From the first moment we spoke to them to the time we checked out, Julie and Trevor were nothing but kind, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Even my finickity dietary requirements (no cows' milk and a vegetarian to boot) was taken in Julie and Trevor's stride. They whipped up a fantastic breakfast for us both - all that I could eat and with freshly made bread to boot! Never have I had such an enjoyable meal.

The room and the ensuite were immaculate, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The bed was bliss and we both slept like logs. The area itself is quiet, with numerous footpaths and lovely scenery and the B&B was within a short walk of a really excellent pub.

In short, would highly recommend this place. We chose Charlton 28 simply as a place to stay, but our experience really made our holiday. Go out of your way for this B&B.

Thanks for a great stay, Julie and Trevor!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you both so much for your lovely comments, it was such a pleasure to have you both to stay, and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

During our road trip on (bike) trough South-England this is “THE”B&B we will remember.
Julie and Trevor gave us such a warm welcome,
After settling in, we were accompanied to the local pub were they served us a good evening (veggie) meal.
After a good night sleep we were sorry to leave… our hearts wanted to stay over longer…

We will definitely return here when a new trip is planned to England…
If you would like to experience a superb B&B, this is it.
I can highly recomend a visit to this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb01362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Johnny & Katleen, we really appreciate your glowing review, it iwas a pleasure to have you to stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry it was a short stay, We hope to see you both again when you are over in England hopefully next time for a longer stay.
Regards Julie & Trevor proprietors of Charlton-28

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B in a stunning setting near Goodwood. It was recommended to me by a friend and I'm glad they did. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our rooms were well presented with all the luxuries you'd normally find in a 4 star hotel. The hosts were lovely, and served up a hearty breakfast. I will certainly stay here again, particularly when going to an event at Goodwood, and would happily recommend it to anyone wanting good quality bed and breakfast accommodation with a hint of luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just one word is all that is needed .... FAB - U - LOUS !!!!

We wanted a lovely quiet weekend away to re-charge our batteries and couldn't have made a better choice. We received a lovely warm welcome by Julie and were given a nice cup of tea and home made cake once we had checked in. Our room was immaculate, beautifully presented, with all the little added extra's to make our stay that little bit more special. We would definately return and would not hesitate to recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We had an option of 2 rooms, both were equally as nice and beautifully presented, but we opted for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julliec725, Owner at Charlton 28, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are quite new to running a bed and breakfast, and are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us, we hope that you will come and stay with us again, maybe for a Goodwood event.
Julie and Trevor Cammack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton
5.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Dean Inn
The Dean Inn
#1 of 2 in West Dean
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
5 Charlton Mill Way
5 Charlton Mill Way
#4 of 4 in Charlton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#1 of 4 in Charlton
302 reviews
0 mi away
Woodstock Suites
Woodstock Suites
#3 of 4 in Charlton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton 28

Address: 28 Charlton | Chichester West Sussex, Charlton, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Charlton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlton 28 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Charlton 28 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing